Pistachio Nut Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
I received this recipe from a co-worker years ago and lost it. She called it Pistachio Bread and I tried looking for it here with no luck. This is great. I made again recently. However, because she used loaf pans for hers and I don't have a bundt cake pan I did adjust the cooking time a little. However, that was the only adjustment I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
Great cake! Word of warning, though. Batter is VERY thick and sticky and does not pour. The longer it sits in bowl, the thicker it gets, due to instant pudding thickening. Have your pan ready before mixing batter and use a spatula to get batter to pan. Nut/brown sugar in center is perfect. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
I made this cake for St. Patrick's Day. It didn't make sense to me to use a yellow cake mix with green pudding and expect it to come out green so I used a white cake mix and it turned out a nice shade of green. I love icing so I iced the cake with a tub of ready-made buttercream frosting. Thanks for sharing this recipe - I love bundt cakes and this is perfect for the occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
We loved this recipe. Great for St Patty's Day, being green in all. It did not rise as much as I expected and I kept checking the recipe to see if I left out some liquid because the batter was so thick. But, it tasted wonderful and everyone in the family loved it, even the "nut haters".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This cake is very easy to make and it stays very moist. The batter is very thick so don't think you did something wrong. It raises very nicely when cooking. I use an angel food cake tube pan rather then a Bundt pan because I think the cake comes out much easier. For St Patrick's Day I add a drop of green food color to deepen the green color. I've made this twice now and it's definitley a family pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
This cake turned out delicious. Instead of the powdered sugar dusted on top of cake I used the "Cool Whipped Frosting" recipe. I modified the frosting as well. I used pistachio pudding instead of vanilla pudding the frosting recipe called for. This cake turned out to be a lovely birthday surprise for my mom! Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
Overall this cake was well received by my tasters. Like Ginger I too found myself re-checking the recipe to see if I had forgotten to add some liquid ingredient. The batter was extremly thick (like play-dough) I did think the end result could have been more moist. We did like the no icing feature as the cake was not to sweet. The cake did have an interesting flavor. I will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
My husband loved it. I used pistachios instead of walnuts and skipped the powdered sugar, but otherwise followed the recipe. The amount of sugar/nut/cinnamon mixture was too much. I had about 1/2 of it leftover. This is definitely a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
I made this cake for Christmas in my new festival bundt pan and it was a big hit! I added halved cherries and then drizzled melted vanilla frosting over the top of the cake. It looked so beautful for Christmas and everyone loved the brown sugar/cinnamon middle. This is new my holiday cake for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBCATZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2000
tasted like playdo and it was too dry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States