Pistachio Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Mmmm...pistachio. The cream cheese mixture went well with the pistachio pudding - I added pineapple to it when I put it on the top for icing. I also placed a thin sheet of vanilla cake directly beneath it to add a little texture and it turned out great! My only complaint was that the crust was a little crumbly and didn't come up too well, but it tasted excellent once you got it out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
I enjoyed this recipe, but changed the crust slightly. I added 3 Tbsp sugar, added almond flavoring and vanilla flavoring and used chopped pistachio nuts instead of walnuts. I baked it for 25 minutes. The crust then had a cookie taste and everyone liked it. I found that I couldn't really taste the cream cheese layer so next time I will double that layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
I used a pie plate instead of the 9x13 and cut everything in half. Actually I made it all up and put the other half in the fridge to enjoy later. I followed the recipe exactly and it was fantastic. Very easy to use. When I tasted the crust by itself I was worried it wouldn't be very good but once it's all put together it's really nice to have that kind of bland crust, and the taste of the nutes in the crust really enhanced the flavor of the pistachio. I detest walnuts so I used slivered almonds and they were yummy. I also didn't decorate with the cherries and since my almonds were so big I didn't use the pistachio nuts on top. Next time I think I'll use pistachio nuts in the crust. Will definitly be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
My friend gave me this recipe and it is FANTASTIC! I have not met one person who didn't salivate over it and beg me to make it again. There is one difference in her recipe though, and I think it makes a big difference. For the crust on the bottom, she used 1cup flour, 1/2 cup melted butter and 1/2 cup walnuts. after you mix and press into the bottom of the pan only bake 20 minutes tops. This recipe gives you a crispy crust that not only tastes better (in my opinion) but holds up and spreads without crumbling into your first layer. Otherwise, this recipe is great and I am glad it is here! You'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
This pie is an all time favorite. My Aunt made it every christmas. I was so excited when I found you had the recipe on here. Thanks, it is now a regular dessert in our house. turns out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
Big hit! I don't really like cream cheese so I cut that in half and added more whipped topping to the mixture (2nd layer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
The cream layer was great but the pistachio pudding layer was too sweet and fake tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2000
I have made this recipe for years. My son, who is not a sweet eater, requests this every year instead of a birthday cake. We call it Oregon Pistachio Torte (A friend from Oregon gave it to me 22 years ago)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2000
A nice cool desert. Actual prep time isn't very long,and the cooling time between crust and fillin gives a chance to take a break. The only problem I had was with the crust...not really a problem,it just wasn't as firm as I expected. Made spreading the filling a little tricky for me. (I'm a rookie)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-49 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States