Pistachio Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
So good!!! I used orange juice instead of water. I used extra chocolate syrup and also some chocolate chips, which made it fudgy without drowning out the pistachio flavor. I topped it with pistachio pudding and chocolate syrup. Very moist. Instead of the cake mix, I use 1 1/2 cups of white flour, 2 cups of sugar, and 1 teaspoon of baking powder, a combination I took from my yellow cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Great recipe! Very moist and very tasty!!! I did find it a little oily and would just cut back on the oil next time. Otherwise a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Easy and delicious! My husband was very surprised to have his favorite flavor in a cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CopperGryphon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Good Cake, very moist. I frosted mine with pistachio pudding mixed with whipped cream. I wanted just a little more pistachio flavor to come through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCookinNow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Nice variation of bundt cake. Used some thinned chocolate frosting and green colored white frosting with almond extract to decorate the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This cake is awesome, but you MUST use a cup of orange juice in place of the water. It makes the cake more flavorful and moist. It even stays must days afterwards (if it lasts that long)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
yep! made this for st. patty's day. didn't have chocolate syrup, but did have hersheys whoppers chocolate malt ice cream syrup, which i just squeezed n squeezed, why measure? : ) i drizzled it with powdered sugar glaze, lots, then dusted it with green sanding sugar. Soooo moist n yummy, a do over for sure. Will invest in individual bundt pan for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concordia, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pontiac, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I love this cake, a friend used to make it many years ago. But I live in Denver and the two times I've attempted it fell in the center. Does anyone have high altitude suggestions? This doesn't happen when I make a cake mix with no additions. Only when the mix is altered. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
My mother made a cake very much like this one when I was a kid. It came out awesome! One word of advice tho, this cake, for some odd reason, it needs to sit for a good day or two before it is moist. When it first comes out of the oven it is a bit dry. I think the pudding mix just has to sit or something. Because by the next day it is so moist and oh so good! So be patient and make it the day before you want to serve it. Well worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This is my stand by for the last 30 years whenever I need a quick cake. So yummy and a great crowd pleaser. This is especially good for people who do not like frosted cakes. Just sprinkle with a little powdered sugar and you are good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States