Pistachio Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
One of my favorite cake recipes! I add 3/4 teaspoon of almond extract to cover any hint of the yellow cake mix flavor. I have made this for many people,and most comment this is the best cake they've ever had! I make a simple glaze with white sugar, warm milk, and a dash of almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
This cake is so great!! and so moist!!... I made mine with a white cake mix, didnt have yellow.. I also only used 3/4 cup water..I mixed in macadamia nut pieces..I did not use the chocolate syrup at all, instead made a chocolate icing and drizzled it over the cake when it was still warm.. MMmmm!! Cant wait to make it again for St Patricks Day dinner for dessert! Kiki (Brampton,ON Canada)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I improved the chocolate flavor by adding 1 tablespoon of cocoa powder and 1 teaspoon of instant coffee to the chocolate half. It did a better job of bringing out the chocolate and hiding the yellow-cake flavor. Overall, this makes an excellent and impressive cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ernesta
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
i frosted this cake with pistachio pudding and whip cream. the presentation was heavenly. however, the taste was eh... boring. i couldn't taste the pistachio in the cake mixture even when i ate it all alone. the frosting made this cake, and next time i'll just eat the pudding. --UPDATE-- i tried this again because i needed a "green" cake, but i tweaked it a bit. i used 1 cup water, 1/3 oil, 3 eggs, 1/4 chocolate syrup and a drizzle of extra chocolate syrup when all the batter was in the bundt pan. i baked it for 45 minutes, and it was terribly delicious. the flavors were much more enhanced this time around, and my critic brother ate more than a couple of slices. now, that's saying a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ernesta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
i was in a pinch and needed a cake to make with things on hand. made this cake for my sister's birthday. it's a very pretty cake that looks quite difficult to make but soooo easy! my sister and i thought it was too oily and perhaps should be a little sweeter but the lack of sweetness could have been due to the oil. some other guests could not stop eating it - they thought it was GREAT! i'd make again in a pinch but would cut back on the oil and replace w/more chocolate syrup. thanks for sharing this great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iluvpickles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Makakilo, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
Great recipe!! Just like my mom used to make. Very quick and simple and it tastes delicious--especially covered with Cool Whip. My 15 month old daughter loves it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This is my stand by for the last 30 years whenever I need a quick cake. So yummy and a great crowd pleaser. This is especially good for people who do not like frosted cakes. Just sprinkle with a little powdered sugar and you are good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I made this last night because i remember this from years ago....I used a fancy bundt pan and it came out delicios and high....I detected the yellow cake mix taste but with the choc. syrup it kind of covered it up....i would make it again.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Nice variation of bundt cake. Used some thinned chocolate frosting and green colored white frosting with almond extract to decorate the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This cake is awesome, but you MUST use a cup of orange juice in place of the water. It makes the cake more flavorful and moist. It even stays must days afterwards (if it lasts that long)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States