Pistachio Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Use fluorescent green food color if you can find it. Good without glaze or icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Galena, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This was a huge hit at my cookout!! Everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I am going to an Italian Fest in August and decided that I would make an Italian Flag layer cake - similar to an Italian Spumoni cake minus the chocolate - so I needed a pistachio layer, vanilla layer and a cherry layer. Due to the problems (cake not rising or falling) I read from the other reviewers I decided that I should probably run a trial on this layer. As I need a very large cake I used the above recipe x 2 and cooked it in a large roasting pan at 350°F for ~35 minutes. I also used a cake mix - Pillsbury Super Moist White - with pudding in the mix - After letting it cool for 30 min the cake came out perfectly intact. I did not have any problems with making or baking this cake per the above instructions. Great Cake - rave reviews from the colleagues and neighbors who benefitted by this trial run. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This was a great recipe! I used white cake mix instead of yellow, and didn't use the food colouring because the pudding gave it a nice light green colour. I also made it in cupcake form, and it easily made over 2 dozen in about 20 minutes. I finished them with a cream cheese frosting and crushed walnuts as garnish and they were a MAJOR hit. I definitely recommend the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
very good and very easy; made it with yellow cake mix with NO pudding in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smross5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Underwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I think I expected it to be sweeter. The wifey loved it. I'm going to add a glaze next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I used sugar-free pudding and it still turned out great! Super-easy recipe to make on the fly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
i just made thia with much success.. I had a white cake mix with pudding on hand so use that and used only 1 cup water-I baked it in a bundt pan 50 min - delicous and moist. I could taste the pistachio flavor also. I mixed some pistachio pudding into cool whip to serve a dollop on top . but yummy plain with dusitng of conf sugar. I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
So moist, so delicious! My mom used to make a pistachio cake for me as a kid and she would frost it with chocolate icing. I enjoyed this cake with a dusting of powdered sugar to let the pistachio flavor really come through. I was nervous about not tasting the pistachio because of other reviews. Btw, I had a cake mix with pudding already in it, that's what I had on hand, but I didn't have any issues with the cake collapsing as I read in other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I was looking for a cake that would coincide with St. Patties day and came across this one. When I sampled the batter, I was hoping for more of a pistachio flavor, but figured that I would give it a shot this way first. After frosting it with the whipped topping/pudding mix, I was glad that I stayed with the recipe. What a light and refreshing cake. Definitely a keeper. In reading the reviews, I saw that a lot of people were having problems with the cake falling. I have used cake mixes for a lot of different things and when it comes to adding pudding to the mix, I have always followed the directions on the back of the cake mix box, as the different brands all vary in the amount of oil, water and eggs that needs to be added. So I stuck to my method and then just added the almond extract and it came out perfect. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States