Pistachio Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Really liked this recipe. I used Duncan Hines cake mix as advised in the comments. I also added chopped pistachios and a powder sugar/butter glaze. I don't think that the food coloring is necessary unless you want the cake to be really green. Anyhow, my coworkers love me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I think it's very good. Not too many ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I made this cake last night and it was delicious. The only thing that didn't turn out the same was the colour of the cake - mine turned out a very light green/yellow colour. For future I would probably choose to use a white cake mix or more dye to balance it out. However, the cake turned out moist, flavourful, and very light and fluffy as promised! Feel free to check out photos of my version of the pistachio cake on www.forloveofbaking.com. Sydney
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Use fluorescent green food color if you can find it. Good without glaze or icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Galena, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This was a huge hit at my cookout!! Everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I am going to an Italian Fest in August and decided that I would make an Italian Flag layer cake - similar to an Italian Spumoni cake minus the chocolate - so I needed a pistachio layer, vanilla layer and a cherry layer. Due to the problems (cake not rising or falling) I read from the other reviewers I decided that I should probably run a trial on this layer. As I need a very large cake I used the above recipe x 2 and cooked it in a large roasting pan at 350°F for ~35 minutes. I also used a cake mix - Pillsbury Super Moist White - with pudding in the mix - After letting it cool for 30 min the cake came out perfectly intact. I did not have any problems with making or baking this cake per the above instructions. Great Cake - rave reviews from the colleagues and neighbors who benefitted by this trial run. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This was a great recipe! I used white cake mix instead of yellow, and didn't use the food colouring because the pudding gave it a nice light green colour. I also made it in cupcake form, and it easily made over 2 dozen in about 20 minutes. I finished them with a cream cheese frosting and crushed walnuts as garnish and they were a MAJOR hit. I definitely recommend the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
very good and very easy; made it with yellow cake mix with NO pudding in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smross5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Underwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I think I expected it to be sweeter. The wifey loved it. I'm going to add a glaze next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I used sugar-free pudding and it still turned out great! Super-easy recipe to make on the fly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States