Pistachio Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rosalie Molina Cook
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Although I didn't have a bundt cake pan & substituted vanilla for almond extract; it was delish!!! It was super easy and came out great as well! Oven time is same as 9 X 13" sized dish from yellow cake instructions on box. It tasted yummy & hubby loves pistachio cheese cake as well, so we frosted with already made cream cheese frosting though-it worked too. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
This turned out fairly well for me. I had to improvise because the cake mix I had was a smaller amount. Baked it in a bundt pan and while it wasn't the prettiest looking cake I ever made, it was fun to cut into it and see the green color, and the taste was good and people came back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Croton Cher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
This is a nice cake, but it is pretty plain so that's why I've only given three stars. It was very moist (I used a boxed cake mix that did have pudding in the mix and I didn't have any issue with my cake falling). The pistachio isn't very strong, so this isn't much different from doing a plain yellow box cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELPRES

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
My Mother made "The Green Cake" for us on St. Patrick's Day when I was a little girl, but we begged for "The Green Cake" throughout the year! Now my kids love "The Green Cake" and I share the recipe with all my neighbors and friends. Enjoy! Judy, Nebraska
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Loved this! And huge hit at my St Pattys Day work potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by penni73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
I've been making this cake for at least 15 years. I do not use the 1.5 cups of water, but instead replace whatever water the box cake mix says with Sprite or 7-up. Also use whatever eggs and oil the box cake mix instructions say. Then to make it really exciting, I add about 1 cup of mini-chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I make a similar version but I don't put in almond extract. It can overtake the pistachio flavor. I also add 1 1/4 cups chocolate chips for some extra goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I just made this- I followed the advice of reviewers and used a cake mix that dd not contain pudding, used 2 eggs and half a cup of sour cream. I substituted the water for milk. Once I took the cake out of the oven it literally shriveled before my eyes! The cake still looks pretty, just smaller. I do a lot of baking and have never had this experience. I am not sure what it is like inside- the cake is for a dinner party so I am afraid to serve it. I am very disappointed and will have to find something else to make. Edit: I cut into the cake. 2/3 of the inside was textured like a solid custard- it actually tasted good. I liked it because it was not too sweet and it did have a nice pistachio flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Made this cake, it was good and I'd probably make it again. Didn't have an 18.25 cake mix and used a regular size Duncan Hines yellow mix, had to tweak the recipe due to mix size, so I only added 1 1/4 cup water and 3 eggs, also added 1/2 cup chopped walnuts. Had no issues of the cake falling as others have noted. Dusted with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Wow this cake is amazing! I love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States