Pistachio Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
very good and very easy; made it with yellow cake mix with NO pudding in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smross5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Underwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I think I expected it to be sweeter. The wifey loved it. I'm going to add a glaze next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I used sugar-free pudding and it still turned out great! Super-easy recipe to make on the fly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
i just made thia with much success.. I had a white cake mix with pudding on hand so use that and used only 1 cup water-I baked it in a bundt pan 50 min - delicous and moist. I could taste the pistachio flavor also. I mixed some pistachio pudding into cool whip to serve a dollop on top . but yummy plain with dusitng of conf sugar. I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
So moist, so delicious! My mom used to make a pistachio cake for me as a kid and she would frost it with chocolate icing. I enjoyed this cake with a dusting of powdered sugar to let the pistachio flavor really come through. I was nervous about not tasting the pistachio because of other reviews. Btw, I had a cake mix with pudding already in it, that's what I had on hand, but I didn't have any issues with the cake collapsing as I read in other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I was looking for a cake that would coincide with St. Patties day and came across this one. When I sampled the batter, I was hoping for more of a pistachio flavor, but figured that I would give it a shot this way first. After frosting it with the whipped topping/pudding mix, I was glad that I stayed with the recipe. What a light and refreshing cake. Definitely a keeper. In reading the reviews, I saw that a lot of people were having problems with the cake falling. I have used cake mixes for a lot of different things and when it comes to adding pudding to the mix, I have always followed the directions on the back of the cake mix box, as the different brands all vary in the amount of oil, water and eggs that needs to be added. So I stuck to my method and then just added the almond extract and it came out perfect. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I have baked this cake, and before I bake it I get some Hersheys Syrup pour on the top of the cake and swirl it around with a butter knife, then bake it, and it is really tasty. I use a butter cream icing or pistachio pudding icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
After many tries I have finally found the remedy for the rise and fall of this recipe! 1 pkg of Duncan Hines yellow cake mix (it's the only one without pudding in the mix! That's crucial!) 1 small pkg of pistachio pudding mix 1/2 cup of sugar 4 eggs 1/2 cup of water 1/2 cup of vegetable oil 1 8 oz. Cup of sour cream 1/2 tsp of almond extract Several drops of green food coloring Mix all ingredients together and pour into greased and floured bundt pan (or the spray with the flour in it) Bake at 350 for 1:05 to 1:10. Came out perfectly! !!!! A huge HIT with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jmelee
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly and came out beautiful. Definitely a crowd pleaser. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I made this for a Christmas luncheon at work. It was a huge hit. I used applesauce as a one for one substitution for the oil. It added moisture to the cake. It was sweet, but not overly sweet. They want me to make it again, and that's the true mark of a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States