Pistachio Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Great cake.. I didn't have any sprite so I used ginger ale . I too used coolwhip & a teeny bit of milk for the frosting.. I also added a little bit of sweetened lime juice to the cake mix. topped it off with marchiano cherry's Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Awesome! I made this for my boyfriends bday since he is a huge pistachio fan. I used Duncan Heinz white cake mix as suggested by others since there is no pudding already in that mix. I used Cool Whip and a packet of pistachio pudding for the topping. Maybe added 3TBSP of milk or so. The frosting was gritty, but I let the cake sit frosted for hours & the grittiness went away. I sprinkled pistachio nuts on top. This was a HUGE hit! I have to make it for a co-worker now since she took one bite and flipped out! AMAZING recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
love it i make mini cup cakes and i used cream cheese frosting topped whit pistachios everybody loves them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I use a bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUANT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I use a golden cake mix and add 1/4 tsp. almond extract to both the batter and to the whipped topping (I use fresh whipped cream instead of topping mix).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
It rose high and was nice and brown on top then fell as it cooled. It was super dense and I did not like the texture. The pudding on top was good (I only used a 1/2 carton of cool whip). It was edible but glad I was not taking it anywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Wow! I turned this cake into cupcakes for easter. I didnt have any fresh lemon lime soda, so I used 1/2 c of the flat spite I had in the fridge and 1/2 c of squirt, and it worked fine. I dont know if it changed anything or not but they are SO good! I havent even frosted them yet and they are delish!I will update my review when theyre frosted, but so far so good....thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
this turned out great! this was a hit with everyone! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmallen6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This cake was a huge hit with my family! Instead of 3/4 c. oil I used 3/4 c. unsweetened applesauce to lighten it up. I also used 1 -8 oz fat free cool whip instead of the whipped topping mix...I put in a tsp of almond extract and 2 drops green food coloring to give it more color. I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This was really easy & good. I made it for my mother in law's birthday. While baking, the cake puffs up really high, maybe due to the sprite (?) The flavor is nutty & the texture is moist, not too dense. I couldn't find whipped topping mix in envelopes so I used cool whip & less milk. I think this would also pair well with the pineapple & pistachio pudding recipe on this site, either as a filling or frosting. This is good for out-of-the-box but not a showstopper or anything. Still a very good recipe. next time I might add some pineapple, coconut or chopped pistachios to the frosting. Good if you're looking for a lighter cake (meaning lighter in color) that's a little different than the norm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States