Pistachio Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I'm not a cake/dessert person in general, but this was by far the best cake I've ever had. I've probably made it twice a year over the last few years and never had a problem- but I think I've never followed this recipe to a tee either. I've always used white cake mix and followed IT'S directions, plus one packet of pistachio pudding and a little more milk. Comes out delicious and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenmore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RACHIEH
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Family favorite! I use three eggs, 2 puddings as alterations in the cake. Usually frost with 1 pk pudding, one cup milk and either 4 oz or 8 oz of Cool Whip. If I bake the cake to decorate, then I use the 4 oz, fill the layers with the pudding mixture. If I bake in a tube pan, then I use the 8 oz for more "frosting." My sister had this for her wedding cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHIEH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
tried it twice - tastes like a souffle - too many eggs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This is a great recipe. I also made a few minor changes. I use 24oz of cool whip, 1 cup heavy cream and a box of pudding for the icing and I cut into three slices and ice between each slice. Also I folded in the eggs one at a time to keep the cake from being too heavy or eggy tasting. This is hands down my families favorite cake for every occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kennedy Family
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Okay I screwed up but it turned out great still! I've had requests to make it again! I didn't read the directions well and put the milk in the cake on top of the water so it was quite moist!!! But it turned out great. Follow the real directions and I'm sure you'll like it. It takes some TLC but it works! I am making one for Thanksgiving tomorrow by popular demand. Try it! I didn't think i'd like pistachio cake but it was wonderful! i made the pudding mix like the recipe said and let it set up for a bit, then i folded in cool whip and let it set again for a bit. Then frosted the cake and refrigerated it. Patience paid off as it was the rave! Plano, TX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kennedy Family

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
My great-grandmother used to make this cake for summer birthdays when I was a kid, and now my own children request it! For the frosting, we make the pudding as suggested on the box, refrigerate for an hour, and fold in 4 ounces Cool Whip. My absolute FAVORITE cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This is the recipe off of the Betty Crocker yellow cake mix box. It's for a yellow pound cake, but works well with any instant pudding flavor. I make this pistachio every year for my dad's birthday...but it's only 4 eggs and 1 cup of water (i use club soda instead)- it comes out moist every time. As for the frosting, I use 2 boxes of pistachio instant pudding with 1 pint of heavy cream (whipped) 1 cup of milk and add a little almond extract to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This cake has always been one of my favorites. One of the other reviews noted that a package of "vanilla pudding" was left off of the ingredient list. I'm not sure why they assumed it was vanilla pudding. I've always made the icing using a package of pistachio pudding. So, when I'm purchasing ingredients for the cake, I buy two packages ... one for the cake and one for the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
Oh boy, what a disaster. I did as the recipe said, but it came out a cross between cake and custard. Maybe it has something to do with the order the ingredients are put in..or how long it's baked for. I also made 3 layers. Here's what I di...I could see this was going to be a flop as I watched it bake. So, I told my husband it was a new kind of desert called Pistachio jubilee. If he thought it was suppose to be a cake, he never would have tried it.! Well, he said it was good! I wouldn't make it again! Different,but good! Go figure!...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Moist cake with really good light flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mona Mcdaniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Angola, Indiana, USA
Living In: Manton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States