Pisang Goreng (Indonesian Banana Fritters) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I made this in a wok, with not a lot of oil, as I do not have a deep fryer. Liked it a lot. Not hard to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne England

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA
Living In: Perris, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I tried this, and I made few variations to it and it turned out great. Instead of rum flavoring I used cinnaomon and instead of cutting the banana in a slice I cut it in vertically so the result was circular banana bites. I also used semi-ripe banana so I wouldn't have to deal with the "smusshy" taste. All in all it was a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Love them!! Can't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
They were a huge hit. I didn't have any vanilla powder and used cocoa powder instead for a chocolate taste and dipped them in a chocolate sauce and made a cream cheese compote for dipping as well. My two year had a blast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I absolutely loved it. I added cinnamon instead of the vanilla powder. It was amazing. The exact amount of sugar for my taste. My mum n bro enjoyed it alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Living in Jakarta for a good amount of my childhood my family used to make these frequently. There is something a little 'off' about the recipe can't really put my finger on it and we certainly didn't use rum in ours but still good and reminded me of those days. For those of you whom have never had this, the best way to describe it....it is sorta like funnel cake with banana inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbluv00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
These weren't bad but they definitely needed more sugar for my liking. Since a lot of the batter mix is left in the bottom of the bowl, the sugar probably didn't really mix in well. Honey might have solved this issue since it's a liquid. Also, I'd prefer it if they were a little crispier on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I've made this a few times and it has come out perfectly every time. Try dusting the bananas with powdered sugar for a nice presentation or drizzling with chocolate sauce. I add regular vanilla instead of powdered vanilla and often exclude the butter. If you want it to have a stronger rum taste add a little at the end. So easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Loved the recipe. My mother always made them with a beer batter (flour and beer) and it was SO easy. Try heating equal parts of soy sauce and honey in a small pot parts and add a bit of spicy 'sambal' for a dipping/serving sauce....... yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
The fritters tasted good and were all gone in minutes. The dough was tough to work with as bananas would not easily stay folded in the dough. After a while, I came up with a “folding” method using 2 spoons, but apparently, brought in too much dough per slice and ran out of the dough with almost 1 full banana left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States