Pioneer Cut Dumplings from the 1800's Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Love this recipe! I too made the broth while the dumplings dried and put the cooked chicken back in last after the dumplings were done. The person that served this with biscuits and mashed potatoes must love carbs. They should have cooked some bread to sop it up with too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by InkBuddy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Actually keep this recipe a little more moist and drop by spoonful into broth. They taste just like my great grandma's dumplings. She was from the old country (Lithuania) and her home made soups were the best! She isn't here anymore and these bring back some amazing memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This is definitely my favorite recipe that I've referred all my friends to use this recipe. It's a snap to put together; so easy to adjust to your liking be it drops, squares, thick or thin and long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djhens70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I never liked the taste of dumplings until I tried this recipe oh my lord it was delious WOW. Thanks for this marvelous recipe it's going in my family folder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
This was great!! I'm from Ohio, and my grandmother made dumplings, but never wrote down a recipe. This is it!! Perfect. The first time I made them I forgot to dry them, but they turned out great anyway! Wonderful, and great reheated, even after being frozen. A great meal extender, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Just made them. Loved the addition of black pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
THE BEST way to make dumplings. I was looking for one like Grandma would make and I found it. I read some other reviews and those that said it was lacking here or there have it all wrong. It is perfect the way it is. I love to cook OLD FASHION STYLE and do all my cooking from scratch and homemade, and this is as good as it gets with down home goodness. I even used fresh from the farm milk in this recipe. Not the milk you buy at your local grocers. I can NOT recommend this recipe HIGH enough 5 stars are too few.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I grew up eating fluffy drop dumplings while my hubby grew up with the flat rolled out kind. I have tried many times to mimick my mominlaws dumpling with no success, until today! And in fact, my 8 yr old says she likes mine better than granny's! I can't ask for more than that can I?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Awesome recipe!! I too cut the recipe in half. Now I wish I wouldnt have. I had a ham bone left over from my Christmas dinner. I made a great bean soup with it added carrots, onion, celery, and pintos to the broth. I then boiled the dumplings for about 8-10 minutes in the soup. My pickiest son ate two helpings. I remember my mom making these with her fried cabbage and onions as a child. Yummy memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Hanley Froomkin
Home Town: Girard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
These are good.. more like noodles as opposed to my normal dumpling recipe. I picked this recipe due to the fact there is no fat in it. I changed it to 2 egg whites instead of a whole egg and added a bit of baking powder. I rolled them super then. The kids still enjoyed them.. I will use again for my chicken noodle soup... not my chicken and dumplings:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocknbutterfly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States