Pioneer Cut Dumplings from the 1800's Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
I made these and they were perfect. Reminded me of my grandmothers. I did let them dry for about 4 hours before cooking them though as I recall my grandmother having hers dry for most of the day. I made them in noodle fashion and not dumplings, rolling the dough thin makes them less doughy and tough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I love this old timey stuff. Simple yet great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
This was just the recipe I was looking for. It was easy to make and tasted wonderful. I added chopped parsley and they turned out great. I always make extra and freeze them to drop in any stew or soup I make. Even my picky 17 year old love them. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens Village, New York, USA
Living In: East Hampton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I love this recipe. I use it for noodles and dumplings. Perfect dense texture that we love. I made no changes to the recipe and they are perfect. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I have 4 children and a husband that is a very good cook... we like things that are simple and to the point - These were great!! The kids loved to help and make their own noodle shapes and dumpling hearts. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
These were the BEST dumplings I've ever made. The only thing I did different was to cut the recipe in half and add a pinch of black pepper to the dough. I rolled the dough very thin (1/8 inch or less) cut them in small squares with my pizza cutter and put them on a floured cookie sheet to dry all afternoon. I let my chicken broth come to a boil and added the dumplings then turned down the heat, covered the pan and let them cook for about 8 min. They were just like grandma's!! Nice and thin and tender. Not gummy or doughy at all. I added my chicken after the dumplings were cooked. I thickened the broth with alittle flour mixed with cold water and served with mashed potatoes and biscuts. What a wonderful dinner on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Jeff really liked these. Much better than Emeril's cake like drop dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
This is almost the exact recipe my baba used to make dumplings for my dad. Now that she's gone, I can make them for him. If I want to make them healthier I use whole grain flour, and I can add in spices like garlic and even some chopped spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conscendo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coraopolis, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
hey, this recipe was great! i was looking for a good dumpling recipe, and this was the one. i really liked how you focused on the dumpling, not so much the soup you cook it in. (so i wasn't afraid to be a veggie stealing the dumpling recipe from "chicken and dumplings") super easy recipe, made it in a jiffy, then got to focus all my creativity on the soup. i felt motivated to experiment around with what i had in the kitchen. didn't have any broth or stock, so i improvised my own base (i don't ever homecook soup other than miso). i heated some butter in a large pot, added in my chopped red onion, some shredded carrots, cremini mushroom chunks, & chive. then salted, garlic powdered, and sugared, (something i learned from asian cooking) four cups of water, & a quick splash of milk for some opacity. i cut my dumplings pretty slopily, so some were a lot bigger than others, but they all tasted uniform. you know when they are done, because they ALL float. before serving, i added some chopped green onion, and enoki mushrooms. turned out to be a nice somewhat light & fresh, but very hearty soup. presentation was nice in a glass bowl. i recommend serving immediately; if you wait too long to eat the soup... the dumplings suck in a bunch of liquid, and become much more dense & gummy (which isn't too bad, but i did like the fluffier version better, it went better with my light soup)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I haven't had had cut dumpling stew since my grandmother passed. Glad I found this one. A great recipe Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States