Pioneer Cut Dumplings from the 1800's Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
I made these and they were perfect. Reminded me of my grandmothers. I did let them dry for about 4 hours before cooking them though as I recall my grandmother having hers dry for most of the day. I made them in noodle fashion and not dumplings, rolling the dough thin makes them less doughy and tough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
This was just the recipe I was looking for. It was easy to make and tasted wonderful. I added chopped parsley and they turned out great. I always make extra and freeze them to drop in any stew or soup I make. Even my picky 17 year old love them. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens Village, New York, USA
Living In: East Hampton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
These were the BEST dumplings I've ever made. The only thing I did different was to cut the recipe in half and add a pinch of black pepper to the dough. I rolled the dough very thin (1/8 inch or less) cut them in small squares with my pizza cutter and put them on a floured cookie sheet to dry all afternoon. I let my chicken broth come to a boil and added the dumplings then turned down the heat, covered the pan and let them cook for about 8 min. They were just like grandma's!! Nice and thin and tender. Not gummy or doughy at all. I added my chicken after the dumplings were cooked. I thickened the broth with alittle flour mixed with cold water and served with mashed potatoes and biscuts. What a wonderful dinner on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
hey, this recipe was great! i was looking for a good dumpling recipe, and this was the one. i really liked how you focused on the dumpling, not so much the soup you cook it in. (so i wasn't afraid to be a veggie stealing the dumpling recipe from "chicken and dumplings") super easy recipe, made it in a jiffy, then got to focus all my creativity on the soup. i felt motivated to experiment around with what i had in the kitchen. didn't have any broth or stock, so i improvised my own base (i don't ever homecook soup other than miso). i heated some butter in a large pot, added in my chopped red onion, some shredded carrots, cremini mushroom chunks, & chive. then salted, garlic powdered, and sugared, (something i learned from asian cooking) four cups of water, & a quick splash of milk for some opacity. i cut my dumplings pretty slopily, so some were a lot bigger than others, but they all tasted uniform. you know when they are done, because they ALL float. before serving, i added some chopped green onion, and enoki mushrooms. turned out to be a nice somewhat light & fresh, but very hearty soup. presentation was nice in a glass bowl. i recommend serving immediately; if you wait too long to eat the soup... the dumplings suck in a bunch of liquid, and become much more dense & gummy (which isn't too bad, but i did like the fluffier version better, it went better with my light soup)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I love this recipe. I use it for noodles and dumplings. Perfect dense texture that we love. I made no changes to the recipe and they are perfect. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I have 4 children and a husband that is a very good cook... we like things that are simple and to the point - These were great!! The kids loved to help and make their own noodle shapes and dumpling hearts. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 2, 2007
This is almost the exact recipe my baba used to make dumplings for my dad. Now that she's gone, I can make them for him. If I want to make them healthier I use whole grain flour, and I can add in spices like garlic and even some chopped spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conscendo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coraopolis, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I love this old timey stuff. Simple yet great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I haven't had had cut dumpling stew since my grandmother passed. Glad I found this one. A great recipe Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Jeff really liked these. Much better than Emeril's cake like drop dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States