Pioneer Cut Dumplings from the 1800's Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
These were the BEST dumplings I've ever made. The only thing I did different was to cut the recipe in half and add a pinch of black pepper to the dough. I rolled the dough very thin (1/8 inch or less) cut them in small squares with my pizza cutter and put them on a floured cookie sheet to dry all afternoon. I let my chicken broth come to a boil and added the dumplings then turned down the heat, covered the pan and let them cook for about 8 min. They were just like grandma's!! Nice and thin and tender. Not gummy or doughy at all. I added my chicken after the dumplings were cooked. I thickened the broth with alittle flour mixed with cold water and served with mashed potatoes and biscuts. What a wonderful dinner on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
These are very very good dumplings and very easy to make. The only changes I made was adding a little more (maybe a tablespoon) liquid and if you are making dumplings - not pasta- drop them in right after cutting them and they will be tender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane  Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
hey, this recipe was great! i was looking for a good dumpling recipe, and this was the one. i really liked how you focused on the dumpling, not so much the soup you cook it in. (so i wasn't afraid to be a veggie stealing the dumpling recipe from "chicken and dumplings") super easy recipe, made it in a jiffy, then got to focus all my creativity on the soup. i felt motivated to experiment around with what i had in the kitchen. didn't have any broth or stock, so i improvised my own base (i don't ever homecook soup other than miso). i heated some butter in a large pot, added in my chopped red onion, some shredded carrots, cremini mushroom chunks, & chive. then salted, garlic powdered, and sugared, (something i learned from asian cooking) four cups of water, & a quick splash of milk for some opacity. i cut my dumplings pretty slopily, so some were a lot bigger than others, but they all tasted uniform. you know when they are done, because they ALL float. before serving, i added some chopped green onion, and enoki mushrooms. turned out to be a nice somewhat light & fresh, but very hearty soup. presentation was nice in a glass bowl. i recommend serving immediately; if you wait too long to eat the soup... the dumplings suck in a bunch of liquid, and become much more dense & gummy (which isn't too bad, but i did like the fluffier version better, it went better with my light soup)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
I made these and they were perfect. Reminded me of my grandmothers. I did let them dry for about 4 hours before cooking them though as I recall my grandmother having hers dry for most of the day. I made them in noodle fashion and not dumplings, rolling the dough thin makes them less doughy and tough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Perhaps being from the north is the reason I don't like this recipe. I tried it because it seems really easy and from scratch, but neither my husband nor me liked it. We grew up with dumplings being light and fluffy. These dumplings are heavy and tastless. Maybe I didn't let them dry enough. How dry do they have to be? I wonder if adding baking powder would help them rise.Would this give them the fluffy texture and help them to take on the flavor of the stew? If anyone tries it, please post the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
These are the same dumplings I grew up on at Baptist potluck dinners. It was a total taste from my childhood. I've tried a ton of different dumpling recipes and could never get just the right texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
This was just the recipe I was looking for. It was easy to make and tasted wonderful. I added chopped parsley and they turned out great. I always make extra and freeze them to drop in any stew or soup I make. Even my picky 17 year old love them. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens Village, New York, USA
Living In: East Hampton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Just like my grandmother made! I made these dumplings for my family and they were a hit! I have been searching for a recipe to make dumplings like my grandmother made when I was a child growing up in rural Arkansas, and I finally found it. Letting the dough sit for a couple of hours before boiling is very important for texture if you want firm noodles. Thanks again for a great recipe! You have my eternal gratitude for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jungledrums

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Muscatine, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2008
We love this stuff! We roll it out it like a play dough snake, about as thick as your finger, then in one inch bits.Up here in the north country we call them knefla,there in a potato, carrot and celery cream soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
for such a simple recipe these dumplings were a hit the whole family loved them I am going to take the reciepe when I go moose hunting with the boys next year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States