Pioneer Cut Dumplings from the 1800's Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
So simple ( and good )...love it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This is one of the best recipes! Very versatile! You can add it to the broth of a roast chicken for a quick and easy family favorite or you can play with it. My favorite way to use it so far was to make Lasagna with it. I just replaced the dumplings for the noodles. The only thing to watch for is that the "noodles" will puff up some when cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Just like my grandmother made! I made these dumplings for my family and they were a hit! I have been searching for a recipe to make dumplings like my grandmother made when I was a child growing up in rural Arkansas, and I finally found it. Letting the dough sit for a couple of hours before boiling is very important for texture if you want firm noodles. Thanks again for a great recipe! You have my eternal gratitude for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jungledrums

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Muscatine, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This is my husbands all time favorite homemade noodle. Very quick and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Jo Fire Eating Pro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prineville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
this is a turn 1800 cut dumplings this is what my great great grand mother did she was born back then .. i group up on this my mom has past on and iam so gratful to have found this recipes thank you for posting this up you have maid my day thank you : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosebud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Just what I was looking for!! Love the noodle-like dumplings much more than drop dumplings. Thank you for sharing! Will continue to use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
There are a lot of crappy dumpling recipes out there: too eggy, too dry, just plain bad. This is not one of them. The perfect dumpling recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Pretty basic recipe. A little like homemade noodles. I made the dumplings, cooked them in broth, then drained and fried in a little butter and seasoning salt. Then I added them to the soup. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I have been making these for years. My mother showed me how when i was young. This is the "comfort food" at my house. I triple the batch and use it in chicken/turkey soup and have enough for 4 or 5 dinners (3 of us) and my daughter comes and snatches some for her dinners too. they are so fast and easy. Thank you for posting this!!! With Thanksgiving coming, i will make "leftover turkey noodle soup"!!! AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
The name drew me in and it did not disappoint. This is going to be my "go to" recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States