Pioneer Cut Dumplings from the 1800's Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I have made these for years just the way my mother made them when I was little, the only difference is the name. Mom was Pennsylvania Dutch and these were called Bott Boi (buys) as it was pronounced) or slippery noodles. I add dried parsley in with the flour and use some of the chicken broth to make the noodles. I give these a 5 rating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This is how I learned to make Chicken Pot pie. We cut it in squares and dropped it in chicken and broth with sliced potatoes. Is a classic. So great on a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spotedlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronston, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This is the exact recipe that my mother (born 1913)used, handed down from her mother, and handed down to me. I have eaten other dumplings but never like them as well as this recipe. Never tried making noodles or air drying them before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This is the same recipe that has been handed down in our family for generations. The only difference is my mother added a teaspoon of baking powder to make them lighter. We called this Pot Pie and used chicken, pork, beef or a mixture for the soup. It has always been family favorite and made a few times a month. We have always cut these into about 1 1/2 in squares. My mother also cooked a whole chicken for this and took the chicken out of the pot before she added the dumplings, deboned it and browned it in a fry pan with a little butter then served it on top of the soup -- soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I am 64 and have been making dumplings like this forever. This was my grandmother's recipe she learned from her mother. They are by far the best. I also take a leftover ham bone, boil the bits of ham off, add potatoes, a bit more ham and these dumplings. This too is a wonderful dish on a cold winter night. Let me know if anyone tries the ham recipe. I would like to know how you like it. lshall1950@gmail.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Siler City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This is the almost same recipe I have used all my life. It is an Amish recipe and my family begs for it. Living in Western, NY where it is so cold and snowy, it is on our menu a LOT. Sometimes I use milk and sometimes just water.....regardless...yum! Have to use Lactose free milk, so if I am out or it is not on my budget for the week.....water it is! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I got this recipe from my Mother in Law several years ago. She made them for my son. Love thejm. My grandson likes em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
My Great grandma would make these dumplings too. For the broth it would be water, kidney beans with bacon grease. It sounds gross but it is very good. My Great grandpa and I would pick out the beans. We didn't like the beans but I like the flavor they give the broth. Yummy Good childhood memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Love this recipe! I too made the broth while the dumplings dried and put the cooked chicken back in last after the dumplings were done. The person that served this with biscuits and mashed potatoes must love carbs. They should have cooked some bread to sop it up with too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by InkBuddy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Actually keep this recipe a little more moist and drop by spoonful into broth. They taste just like my great grandma's dumplings. She was from the old country (Lithuania) and her home made soups were the best! She isn't here anymore and these bring back some amazing memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States