Pinwheel Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I didn't use fresh mushrooms, I really should have. Plus, fresh breadcrumbs really would have made a difference. It was still very good and I will probably make it again. Next time I would probably add a bit more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
This was very good! :o) I used fresh spinach, and added it to the mushroom/onion mixture (after the onion was cooked) I used extra sharp cheese, and I am glad I did, otherwise the meat may have been a little bland. My two year old inhaled it, as did my husband, so I think it was a smashing success. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYLYNN6841

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
my loaf is in the oven but i already know it'll be great! during the rolling process it all cracked, but after rethinking and reading other reviews, i know what to do to not let that happen the next time i make a pinwheeled meatloaf... i first noticed this recipie because it's creative and definitely can be a "pretty" dish on the table. the ingredients all taste well together and leave room for adding personal touches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Yummy! We loved this recipe! I didn't have pork and only used lean ground beef. I am a type 2 diabetic and am always trying to lessen the carbs in recipes, so I substituted bulgur wheat for the bread crumbs. Also layered some cheese on top of the spinich mixture! Left the parsley out, not a big fan of it. We really enjoyed it! Made a simple gravy using soy flour to go on top! Thanks for an inventive twist on a classic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
I LOVED this recipe. I sauted a clove of garlic with the onion/mushroom mixture. Didn't have ground pork so used all ground beef. I cooked mine in a stoneware baker with a lid and added cut up red potatoes around the sides of the loaf with a about 1/4 cup of wine. Everyone loved it. Will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
I have made this meatloaf twice already & it comes out perfect each time. You'll love the way it looks when you slice it (for chefs who like to add a little flair to their meals!). I added a little cilantro to the meat mixture as well as some cayenne. I also added to thai chilies to the spinach mixture (we love spicy food in our home!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
I really enjoyed this meatloaf. I used a 1/2 of an onion soup packet in the meat mixture and left out the salt. I also added more worcestershire sauce (about 1 tbls) and I added a little ketchup (about 1/4 cup). I did not add an egg to the spinach and mushrooms because I only had 1 egg and I put that egg in the meat, I doubt that it even made a difference the end result still held together just fine. As noted by a previous review this does work well cooked on sheet pan so it does not swim in greece. I also added kethcup and worcestershire to the top of the loaf and that kept the top from drying out. Tasty and pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
I used fresh baby spinach. Added more onions. My guess the previous reviewers meatloaf fell apart, is that the instructions need to say that you should let the meatloaf rest about 10 minutes before slicing. Also I baked it on a baking sheet. In a loaf pan I think the meat just sits in the fat while cooking. A definate keeper. Thanks Karen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
This was a yummy way to incorporate spinach into a meat loaf, just what I was looking for. I also added garlic and more worchestershire sauce. I only used ground beef because that was all I had on hand. I also used fresh spinach. But to my dismay the cute pinwheel roll I put into the oven crumpled. It was a terrible sight on my serving platter. Just a big mess. Luckly it was just served to my family. The flavor was great I will try this recipie again, but next time I think I will just mix everything into one loaf, no fancy stuff. Maybe run the cheddar cheese through the center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2002
I submitted this a few years ago. I just want to say...ADD GARLIC to the ingredients. I always do and just missed including it when it was originally submitted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quesnel, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States