Pinwheel Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2000
Does she really make this recipe? I'm curious as to how this woman forms ANYTHING from a ball of dough containing the exact measurements listed. I had to manipulate the recipe in order to roll the dough. It was this horribly sticky mass of nothing that eventually formed a big chocolate and vanilla ball of nothing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2000
I've got to add a comment to this too. I don't know if she typed out the wrong amount of ingredients but it REALLY didn't work! It crumbled so much that I couldn't even roll it out. I've made pinwheel cookies for many years and this one time I didn't have a recipe so I decided to search onto the internet... Just a word of warning to all that it doesn't work, I ended up trying to "somewhat" press them so I could use cookie cutters on them. Bad, bad recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
I've been using this recipe for years and it alway's turns out just fine using these amounts. I usually just seperate the chocolate and vanilla dough, roll out each layer seperately between two pieces of wax paper, then just flip the vanilla layer on top of the chocolate layer and roll it up in the waxed paper jelly-roll style. It's really a no-fail recipe as long as you roll each layer out seperately before putting them together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
Certainly very pretty to look at. But very bland. Not as sweet as you'd expect cookies to be. I won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THECHEF3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
This recipe overall was pretty good and fairly easy. I added crushed peppermint candy to the non flavored half of the dough to make them chocolate peppermint. The flavors are subtle and the cookie is not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyons, New York, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I am so sorry I did not read the reviews before making this cookie.. It has no taste at all Very Bland. such a waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
i seperated the two doughs as it said to do in the recipe.... i thinki added too much milk but the dough turned out great..... i flipped the vanilla on top of the chocolate and then rolled..... it did not turn out a large as i thought it would... i guess next time i will have to make a bigger batch...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
eating these cookies is kinda like eating floury air. they have no taste what so ever but they were pretty fun to make and they look really nice. i wouldnt feed them to others but if you make them once and take a picture you could pull off being a pretty good chef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly and they turned out great! I must have sliced them thicker because I only got two dozen, but they are very pretty and unique looking and will add a festive look to my cookie tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
These cookies were good, but I had a little trouble rolling them into a jelly roll shape. It took me and my friend about 10 minutes just to roll it! All in all, though, it was pretty good, and all of my friends enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States