Pinto Beans With Mexican-Style Seasonings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
love this recipe. The only thing I changed was that I added more of the spices, but I like a lot of spice. Otherwise, they turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Lambert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Great recipe! I made a few changes based on what was in my pantry. I used ham shanks instead of bacon, one can of Rotel and one can of petite diced tomatoes and, 3/4 of the amount of cumin called for in the recipe. Nice change from our usual beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Really delicious and economical staple. I made a batch last week as directed (minus bacon and subbing onion powder) and am making another this week. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hblythe
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Eliminated bacon and salt - the flavor was still great. Served it over Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread and added a dollop of sour cream on top. Absolutely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Great recipe it's a keeper and the hit of the Mexican dinner party. Did saute the bacon, onions with fresh garlic first. Added Mexican Oregano while sauteing along with the other spices, brings out the nuttiness and flavor. Added two smoked ham hocks as well, so I only added 1/4 Lb bacon. Used chicken broth as well with 2 Tbs of tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
The beans came out so wonderful my fiance said he needed more and wanted to make bean burritos all week! I didn't have any bacon on hand, so I used pork chorizo instead and wow it worked magically! Yum, yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ofrielly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Excellent. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Awesome. Oh so tasty! I took the advice of others and cooked the bacon before adding to the beans. I used half chicken stock for the liquid. I did add a bit more cumin because I love cumin. I made two batches, one without bacon for vegetarian fare. The beans without chicken stock or bacon were still very tasty. This will be my go-to recipe for pinto beans from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
COOK YOUR BACON BEFORE PUTTING IT IN THE POT!!! I just spent 30 minutes digging flabby bacon out of the pot, fried it up and threw it back in. Otherwise, yummy! 2 1/2 hours was perfect for the beans. I tasted it when I put the bacon back in and thought it needed a TBSP of tomato paste and a TBSP of brown sugar to give it a little more depth. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Delicious: spicy (but not too much), flavorful, and creamy in texture! I followed the recipe exactly except for the fact that the beans were ready for the salt and cilantro after 2.5 hours. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Santa Maria-Style Beans

This spicy California bean dish is a classic partner for grilled steak.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States