Pinto Beans With Mexican-Style Seasonings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
These were really good, I did change them up a lot. I used vegetable broth instead of water, no bacon, one rotel instead of two. The onion I used was a bit large and my kids don't like onions but they still loved these! I cooked them in the crock pot 2 hours on low then 5 hours on high...yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I changed this significantly. I still gave this a 5 star rating. I made this as written 1st time. I've since made this 4-5 times in 3 months. I leave out--cilantro,cumin, salt, bacon and chili powder. yep, this is a totally different recipe now., soak pintos over night. drain strain use low sodium chicken stock , sweet onion, plenty of fresh ground pepper and butter to taste. simmer until you can't wait any longer. drain again. add rotel mild maters and chilis, a small can of hatch chilis, add velvetta Mexican cheese, pepperjack cheese and mozz cheese. use an immersion blender and pulse it to your desire . sour cream and red bell pepper cornbread and cow-juice will fill a hungry stomach with a nice meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Tasty and not difficult, but I needed two tries. First go-round I started putting things together in a small pot, and ended up splitting things up into another of the same size as I realized that it would not all fit. Still very sparing on space though and I used less water than I should have. Anyway the beans burned and I had to try again. For round two I got myself a more serious vessel and watched it more closely. Some deviations I made: Subbed about six cloves of garlic for the g powder. Finely minced. Added a generous amount of a smoked seasoning i have one 16 Oz can of tomatoes with no chile. Just what I had on hand. the original recipe seems like a paid advert that Rotella brand. Question: do you drain the tomatoes? I did not and I think I will next time. There was a lot of liquid still when it came time to eat. This was flavorful bit made it soupy. Should I use less water? Let it all boil about 20 minutes before simmering. . I'm not noticing any harm. I am a new b cook. In case you cannot tell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
This was okay. It wasn't as flavourful as I would like, and I couldn't really taste the bacon. Plus the beans were still kind of hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gurl_cbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Great recipe as is. I really like my beans a little hotter however, so added two jalapeno peppers with a few seeds to spark it up a bit. Also used smoked ham hocks as I had some sitting around. Final touch was a tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce for a slightly smokey flavor. Served with iron skillet cornbread. Had to drag family from the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I never leave reviews but I had to for this recipe. I LOVED it. I made these beans to go along with Chile Verde and I ended up having a small portion of Chile Verde (which was also yummy) and a big portion of these beans. I think I even had seconds! I left out cumin because I dont like it and it was still delicious. Also, instead of cans of Rotel I diced up fresh tomatoes and fresh serrano and jalapenos. And lastly, I cooked the bacon until they were crispy before adding it to the batch. Yummmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Perfect as written. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texastrucker58

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I decided to try something new with my pinto beans. I nearly matched the recipe. They had Rotel's Chili Tomatoes and Green Chili available so I used 2 cans of that. I used chicken stock as well. I added one chopped jalapeño pepper, one quarter cup of chopped celery and will add fresh parsley with the cilantro at the correct time. I used the garlic powder and used 5 smashed garlic cloves as well. I used my smoked ham hocks that I original purchased to make my beans with. So it is going to be really good! Serving with corn bread tonight for supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Oh my goodness!! These are awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Very good recipe. I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by granmaw5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Santa Maria-Style Beans

This spicy California bean dish is a classic partner for grilled steak.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States