Pinto Beans With Mexican-Style Seasonings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Loved the recipe. Did not have the cilantro and it still was very good. We will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I made this in my pressure cooker. Next time I won't add cilantro because some people don't care for it but the flavor was excellent. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Brooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
These are so good. Made the recipe exactly as written and was I happy. I will certainly make these again. Just the right amount of heat from the RO*TEL® diced tomatoes & green chilies. Thank you Lyndsay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
excellent recipe! The only thing i changed was i used chicken broth instead of water and cooked the beans in a crock pot all day. Thanks for the great addition to my recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and glad I did. The right amount of heat from rotel and for me the seasoning was very good! Definately will put on my list for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Santee, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I needed a double batch for a huge group, but only had a pound of dry black and dry pinto, so used both. I didn't double the bacon since I had homemade chicken broth in place of water. I used a 28oz can of Rotel, and tablespoon and half of the spices, and used fresh garlic cloves, and the flavor was wonderful. I cooked in the crock pot on high for 7 hours warm the last hour. It was a bit soupy still at the five hour mark and I was nervous, but they thickened up to a perfect consistency the last two hours. Everybody at our dinner party loved them, and when I fixed up leftover plates for everyone to take home, they all said to put some of those good beans on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly and came out delicious. My family loved them. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Excellent!!!!! I made them two different times and had friends from Mexico (from different parts of the country) who loved, loved these beans. They asked to take home some of the left overs!!!! Excellent recipe. It was my first time making them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Great blend of spices and beans. I was short on time so I substituted 2 (15.25 ounce) cans each of prepared, lower sodium pinto beans and kidney beans. I also threw in a bottle of dark beer (use a non-sweet porter or stout). To cook the dish, I browned the onions and bacon together. Then I threw in the beans and other ingredients except for the cilantro. I brought all the ingredients to a boil for a few minutes then reduced the heat and simmered for about 30 minutes. I threw the cilantro in towards the end. I'm sure the slow cook method is better and more authentic, but in a crunch, this was muy delicioso.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LagunaLala
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Everyone loved it! Simple & good with just enough kick. I made with Sweet Cornbread Cake. http://allrecipes.com/recipe/sweet-cornbread-cake/detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LagunaLala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Santa Maria-Style Beans

This spicy California bean dish is a classic partner for grilled steak.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States