Pinto Beans With Mexican-Style Seasonings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Oh my goodness!! These are awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Very good recipe. I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by granmaw5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Easy to make vegetarian! While we did make some changes, I believe the recipe would be great even if we had not. We did not add the bacon and used roasted tomatoes, added a red jalapeño and 4 cloves of galic. We used a potato masher on the beans when done too. This would be so good on a veggie hotdog! This went very well with 'Sweet Corn Bread' also from this site...sweet with the spicy, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARTIMEL
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
love this recipe. The only thing I changed was that I added more of the spices, but I like a lot of spice. Otherwise, they turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Lambert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Great recipe! I made a few changes based on what was in my pantry. I used ham shanks instead of bacon, one can of Rotel and one can of petite diced tomatoes and, 3/4 of the amount of cumin called for in the recipe. Nice change from our usual beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Really delicious and economical staple. I made a batch last week as directed (minus bacon and subbing onion powder) and am making another this week. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hblythe
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Eliminated bacon and salt - the flavor was still great. Served it over Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread and added a dollop of sour cream on top. Absolutely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Great recipe it's a keeper and the hit of the Mexican dinner party. Did saute the bacon, onions with fresh garlic first. Added Mexican Oregano while sauteing along with the other spices, brings out the nuttiness and flavor. Added two smoked ham hocks as well, so I only added 1/4 Lb bacon. Used chicken broth as well with 2 Tbs of tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
The beans came out so wonderful my fiance said he needed more and wanted to make bean burritos all week! I didn't have any bacon on hand, so I used pork chorizo instead and wow it worked magically! Yum, yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ofrielly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Excellent. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arivaca, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Santa Maria-Style Beans

This spicy California bean dish is a classic partner for grilled steak.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States