Pinto Bean Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
Very good recipe, my family enjoyed this one a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
All I can say is WOW!!! I made this recipe for Purim. One of the traditions for the celebration is to eat lots of beans, seeds, and nuts to represent the vegetarian diet Queen Esther may have eaten while in the palace, as meat would not have been prepared properly for her consumption. I was looking for a new bean recipe to serve during the celebration and came across this. I was extremely interested in this strange recipe, so tried it. I told the family it was pie suprise. It was devoured. Even the children loved it; and when I told everyone what it was they thought it was they were amazed. Very tastey (tastes sorta-kinda like pecan pie. Go figure!) and so easy to make. Note: I do not beleive this recipe is Kosher per se, but with minor adjustment to the ingredients it could become so. Since initially trying this my children have requested it twice!!! It is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2002
By far the best of the four recipes you have on line! I had a similar one years ago from my granny,and lost it. Thanks Bonnie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
I really enjoyed this and so did my family. its easy as well as delicious. This is an any time desert. That's another plus!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This definitely has the appeal of a pecan pie. Delicious! Mine made a pretty custardy crust on top. The recipe was not quite enough to fill up my two 9" pie dishes, though. I will likely make this again, adding a bit more mashed beans for filler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Wow, I'm not sure how to rate this recipe. It was so different from anything I've ever cooked. I used leftover beans which wasn't a good idea because they had been seasoned and you could taste that seasoning in the pie. We had a blast laughing at everyone trying to guess the "secret" ingredient. No one even came close to guessing there were beans in it. My grandmother was the only one who really liked the pie, everyone else was hung up on the fact that it was made with pinto beans. But I may actually make this again someday with fresh UNSEASONED beans. But overall, the pie was very pretty, set up nice, and looked a lot like a pecan pie. I sprinkled pecans on the top of mine before I baked it. I really think using my leftover beans is what made my pie taste strange. Thanks for sharing such an interesting recipe. So, I give it 4 stars for looks, fun, and the hope that unseasoned beans will make all the difference in the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dilley, Texas, USA
Living In: Pearsall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Way too sweet, and an unappealing color. My family didn't like this, and they didn't even know there were beans in it. If you cannot resist trying this recipe, please cut the ingredients in half to make only one pie and sample it in small doses. I did like that it was made with on hand ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINDYG99

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
The flavor was good but the texture was lacking. Too gooey not solid enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States