Pinto Bean Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This was a very simple recipe, I like that part. The suggested amount of salt was WAY TOO MUCH, in my opinion. I'd cut it in half, if not more. I didn't have any jalepenos or cayenne pepper, so I added chipolte pepper powder. I put some cheese on top and microwaved it for about 30-45 seconds and I've got a delicious, cheap, easy dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Balestreri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Excellent! So much cheaper to make than the canned stuff you can buy in the store and so much better. Definitely worth your time to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
It was good, but way too salty for me. I would recommend cutting the salt in half at the least maybe even to 1/4 tsp and taste it before adding more. If you want heat add half a jalapeño seeded and diced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I liked this recipe but I thought it was a little too salty for my taste. I will be making it again but cutting the salt down. Also, 3 jalapeno slices do not give a lot of heat. I would recommend trying it and then adding more to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I've made a similar recipe of my own. You can also add fat free Greek yogurt for extra calcium and protein. Also works well with whole roasted garlic cloves and smoked paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
My son is addicted to the Restaurant Style Chicken Nachos recipe on this site, so I always have tortilla chips on hand. I was looking for something else to go with the chips -- I love nachos, but unlike Mr. Pickypants, I get tired of them -- and found this recipe. I followed the recipe almost exactly -- I have no tolerance for heat in my food, so I omitted the jalapenos (and indeed, that mere 1/8 t. of cayenne was at my threshold!). This dip is light and flavorful, nothing like the heavy, pasty stuff that comes in a can; and it took just a few minutes to make! Thanks, PresidentJim; you have my vote! 3/10/2014: Just a couple of notes: If you drain the beans well, you will get a thicker dip. And although you will think it needs salt, don't do it! You'll get plenty of salt from the chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lela
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This dip is wonderful! My hubby loved it! I did add 2 roasted green chilies, 1/8 tsp. of garlic salt and a pinch of cumin. No more buying the little can of bean dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lela

Cooking Level: Intermediate



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fruit Dip II

A light, fluffy, super-easy dip with cream cheese and marshmallow crème.

Saint Paddy's Dill Dip

A colorful, creamy dip that’s perfect for celebrating St. Patrick's Day.

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States