Pinto Bean Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
great cake never would have thought that beans would work so well. I used mayo copa beans as I had a large pot cooked and did not need them all for what I had cooked them for and used pears as my neighbor had just given a large bag from her tree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Glenns Ferry, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
My husband and I love this cake! It so moist, not overloaded with sweetness and spiced just right. The first time I made it I didn't tell him there were two cups of beans in it. He devoured over half of it for a midnight snack. Its great plain sans frosting or sometimes I make a creamcheese frosting. I follow the recipe except I substitute oil for the butter. I don't peel my apples and we are not big fans of raisins and nuts in our cake, so I omit those. Thanks for the fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I was hesitant at first to try this recipe, but I am looking for new ways to add fiber to our diet, so I decided to give it a try. I just took it out of the oven and my 9 yr old son is back in the kitchen asking for more, more, more even without any icing!!! He has no idea what is in it and I am keeping it that way. I followed recipe, but I added 1 cup chopped apples and 1/2 c apple sauce, 3/4c sugar and 1/4 c brown sugar. And since I love cinnamon I added a few extra dashes of it. This recipe is definately a keeper! Thank you so much for posting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Wilson-kraft

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I made this for the men at the group home I work at, used beans I made from scratch (they get loads and loads of dry beans donated to them). I subbed 1 cup applesauce for the 2c apples, and it turned out fine. This is a good recipe to use up those surplus beans and cans of applesauce that people on WIC or food donations end up with. BTW 2lb dried beans=4 batches of this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Guyton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Not enough flour to support the wet ingredients. Baked it 15 minutes past the given time. Went to cut it and it was a gooey mess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This is an awesome recipe! The pinto beans are completely hidden into the batter. A perfect and nutritous snack for kids. My children love it. I dont even tell them that there is beans in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ced

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
This was 'okay'. The cake was not dense at all (see notes below). My nut bread has a much denser texture. However, it doesn't raise noticeably in the baking so you end up with a bundt cake that is about 3" high. This tastes almost exactly like my apple cake though so not a recipe I'd add to my collection. For those who complained that the cake was a bit 'heavy', perhaps you used too many beans? The recipe calls for 2 cups pinto beans, mashed (meaning you measure the beans first, then mash them)...not 2 cups of mashed pinto beans. This will make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Very lovely cake, yet I recommend to puree the beans with water. Also, the apples don't need to be peeled. My bf brought it to work. It was all eaten up and everybody found it really fun to guess the secret ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
This cake is AMAZINGLY AWESOME! I substituted the pecans for almonds and applesauce for the apples though. You CAN NOT even taste the beans!! I am actually the only person in my family of four that does not like beans and I absolutely LOVED this cake!!! If you don't like beans and want to try something different, TRY THIS CAKE!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I love this cake! I make one a week. Thanks Suzanne! It's a treat with out guilt. I omit the 10x icing and nuts for calorie purposes. My favorite, thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States