Pink Valentine Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
I used this frosting with the easy valentine cookies and it tastes fine. It came out one of the best sugar cookies I've ever made. I didn't make any changes except it was dry and all you have to do is add a little water at a time until you get the consistency you want or until it is easy to spread as clearly stated in the directions. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
This was WAY too much salt for such a small frosting recipe. I mixed it up according to the recipe and thank goodness I tasted it before putting it on my cookies because they would have been ruined and I was planning to give them away as gifts. I quadrupled the rest of the ingredients while leaving the salt at 1/4 tsp and it turned out ok. I also replace the water with milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2001
This icing was WAAAYY to salty! It made the cookies taste awful. I had to scrap it off and replace it with a butter icing. I suggest either leaving out the salt or using another recipe for the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2001
I thought the frosting tasted a little salty - it was still good, but just a little too much salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2001
I made some changes to this recipe to suit my tastes a little. Instead of water I added milk since it milds out the powdered sugar. I added less salt (1/4 tsp). I also added only 1/4 tsp vanilla and added 1/4 tsp peppermint extract. It's good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2001
This recipe left me very confused! I didn't get anything like a frosting with this. I got hard chunks of confectioners sugar. The first review said she added 'more milk'. I didn't see milk on the recipe at all. Was I supposed to add milk? I imagine that would help. It was certainly lacking moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHMARGI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2001
Way too thick and horribly salty. I had to add more powdered sugar and tons more milk (only go 1 tablespoon at a time, though, so it doesn't get too thin) to cut back on the saltiness. Cookie recipe was great, but next time I'll just use my usual powdered sugar frosting recipe...(with no salt!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2000
easy & impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2000
A simple icing that works well on the Valentine cookies. You can add sprinkles and just lightly press them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Pope's Valentine Cookies

See how to make tasty cut-out cookies for your sweetheart.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States