Pink Stuff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I rarely give any recipe five stars. Based on taste and its simple nature, this one probably deserves a four. It's not the sort of dessert you'd find in a fine restaurant. In fact, I think it might work better as a filling. I might try it with Phyllo or two separate two layers of a cake. But I gave it five stars. Why? Because it's an easy, quick recipe that tastes great and is a hit with kids. For those days when you want something sweet without the hassle of creaming together eggs and butter and so forth, this works wonders. I made my own whipped cream from a recipe on this site. It's short on sweetness, and that worked well to cut the sweetness of the condensed milk and fruit. I also replaced the pecans with sliced almonds. Someone mentioned Green Stuff. So I'm thinking about some sort of Christmas treat with Red Stuff and Green Stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron White

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I have been making this recipe for years - except I use strawberry pie filling and no pecans. I think the strawberry filling is much better than the cherry (maybe just my preference since I'm not a huge cherry fan). Anyways, this always goes over very well at potlucks, and is really, really quick and easy to throw together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Loubert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Helen, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Pretty tasty stuff. Made as directed but didn't add the pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLBACK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
Ooooh-weeee, is this ever sweet! I only used a 1/2 can of the sweetened condensed milk and still found it very sweet. Other than that, we liked it a lot and it was so easy to make. Next time, I will cut back the sw. cond. milk a little more. This makes a lot so it's best for a large group
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I love this recipe! My recipe calls for 1/4 cup lemon juice and mandarin oranges. This might be why others think it's too sweet. I also prepare a graham cracker crust..and bake it for a few minutes in a 9x13x2 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula West
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This is an old south recipe and the name is right PINK STUFF..we just love it..I did make a photo and as soon as they approve it it will be on...This recipe dose make alot so we make it for large gatherns..but it also can be cut in half..Thanks for putting this on..I hope you all try it...Here in ALABAMA its on all the salad bars...LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula West

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This is awesome! I too (as someone else had written) thought this was something only my family has called "pink stuff". It must be a southern thing? I only used maybe half of the condensed milk and 3/4 of a can of strawberry pie filling. I found it to not be too sweet at all! In fact, I added marshmellows and a dash or two of cinnamon! Everyone loved it and I like how easy it is to make and to "tinker" with you're own flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Pretty sweet, as to be expected. I did not add the nuts, as my husband requested. But I think some salty pecans would have been a nice flavor and texture in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
this "stuff" is pretty yummy! I made it at thanksgiving to see if anyone wanted to throw it on top of some cheesecake or whatever but we all wound up just eating it straight. I also used strawberry pie filling rather then cherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Too "Cool Whippy" for me, but Chris likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten Vacin Schwendiman
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Strawberries

Fresh strawberries are stuffed with sweetened cream cheese.

Cranberry Stuffed Game Hens

See how to make game hens stuffed with a simple cranberry and bread stuffing.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States