Pink Sauce for Pasta (Shrimp) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2003
I LOOOOVEEE this recipe!!! It tastes amazing!!! Very unusual flavor. Ginger lovers, this a recipe for you.I used half & half instead of heavy cream and tomato paste instead of the puree and it came out DELICIOUS!!!! I added some black olives and grated Parmesan and top yummyyyyy!!! Thanks for the recipe =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILEANA-PR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2004
Very tasty recipe BUT - be careful with cumin. It is a very strong, pungent spice and I only used 1/2 teaspoon and it was still a little overpowering. But the ginger/garlic/lemon/cayenne/mustard seed combo has an AMAZING flavor! Also I used half and half instead of cream and it was still nice and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
Excellent. I'm even asked to make it. I substitute fat free half and add a couple of tablespoons of wonder flour to thicken in place of the cream. You can also use powered ginger. We also use chicken which I think is even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This is actually really delicious and different. I have made it with shrimp and grilled chicken. If you make it with chicken, add peas. It's just great. Now, the actual recipe of this that originated with a renowned Indian chef calls for a full cup of tomato sauce (omitting the water) with the cup of heavy cream, so that is what I did, and I loved it. He also states the use of olive oil instead of veg. oil, so that is recommended, as it is healthier. I use the full amounts of everything, spices, etc. I wouldn't change the amounts at all. It is a rich, mouth-watering experience. Lovely and one of my new favorites. Not for the bland of palette. Great with a nice bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
tasted ok, but was quite watery because i didn't use cream like they said and used milk instead. So if i had used cream this would have been a lot better i'm guessing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zeyita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ladner, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
This is one of my favorite Madhur Jaffrey recipes. Very easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I substituted the heavy cream with evaporated goat milk (because of cow milk allergy and to reduce the fat and calories), and it came out really delicious. This sauce is interesting, kind of like a curry but not really like it served with pasta. Which I did, and it was soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
incredibly tasty and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELAQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ewing, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I'm nor sure if this sauce is officially considered a curry or not, but the closest thing I can compare it to is a tomato-based version of green curry sauce. It has the same spicyness with a cream base. I will be keeping this recipe in my repertoire for when I want spicy Indian food - it's easy to make & you can have most of the ingredients on hand; just buy the shrimp, ginger & cream when you're ready to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This was good. I made the mistake of serving over ravioli, I should have used thin spaghetti. The sauce was disappointingly thin. It is spicy though, the kind of spicy that sneaks up on you. I need to come up with a way to thicken the sauce a bit. My husband doesn't want it again, so I don't think I'll have the chance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma's cookin'

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States