Pink Lady Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I made the Pink Lady Cake for a bridal shower for my sister. It was delicious! Everyone enjoyed it, and it was gone by the end of the evening. I'll definitely make it again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlcollier

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Auburn, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This recipe is almost identical to a cake my mother makes. A frosting alternative would be to 1) drain the remaining 1/2 of strawberries, reserving the juice 2) Cream 1 stick of softened margarine or butter with 1 lb of confectioners sugar 3) Add strawberries and 1/2 of the reserved juice 4) Add remaining juice by tsp until desired consistency is reached. You could also cook the cake @ 350 F for 25 min (for 2- 9" cakes) or 40-45 min (for a 13x9" cake). My mother has made this cake for >30 years, and it comes out great everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I made this cake for my daughter's birthday and it was FABULOUS! I did use fresh strawberries instead of frozen and it turned out perfectly. Cooking time was right on. Cake is a nice pink color (which she loved) and is very moist. Instead of the strawberry icing, my daughter wanted something like a "wedding cake icing" which I found on this site as well. I frosted it with a very thin layer of that and it was wonderful! I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I made this for valitine's day for my boyfriend and we both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
I t was edilble but thats about it. The cake took a long time to bake and then was just kind of mushy. It didn't even have a nice color when done. Probably would not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
This was a easy, great cake. Perfect with home made whipped cream for an extra treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GENEVA18

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levelland, Texas, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
A very yummy Valentine's treat, but for strawberry lovers only. I recommend it with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
Makes a fantastic frosting (goofy in other review it is supposed to be watery to an extent.... it is a frosting) not an icing (or is it the other way around) but anyway it is one of the best things I have ever tasted... perhaps I am a good cook?? ha ha ... everyone commented on it that tasted it and loved it! Toni, Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
I thought this was a wonderful cake. Very flavorful and very moist. To me, there were no ingredients missing; however, it did take a little longer to cook than what the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
there are no ingredients missing from this recipe. just top it with whipped cream and put the watery frosting around it and its great. i made this cake for a banquet and everyone loved it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States