Pineapple Zucchini Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
Big hit over here! I cut the oil to 1 cup and subbed the eggs with bananas (mashed with baking powder = common sub) because my little guy is allergic to eggs. Which by the way he has eaten 1 muffin everyday for the past 3 days. Nice & moist and good for breakfast. Great recipe Frost, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
I changed this recipe a lot but it turned out really well. I only did a half batch and cut the oil to 1/2 cup and also cut down the sugar a bit. I substituted half of the flour for whole-wheat and used carrot instead of zucchini. I forgot to cut the pineapple in half so added the entire can with the juice. I found the muffins to be a bit too sweet but everyone in my house loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
These muffins are delicious, and when the garden produces more zucchini than you can possible use, it's a great way to use it up. However, very high fat. Does anyone have a formula for cutting the oil? Use 1/2 cup applesauce to replace 1/4 cup oil?? Oil actually saturated some of the paper muffin liners. But delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Delicious! I used half whole wheat flour and half white flour. I also used applesauce instead of oil. The turned out great and my toddler loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
If you are going to try this one, I'd recommend that you try a partial batch first ... it's a huge yield and I wasted a lot of good ingredients on muffins nobody in my house will eat. They turned out surprisingly bland and with a weak cupcake texture instead of the muffins I expected. Even using the helpful tips from other reviews couldn't save this one - disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Not extraordinary, just uncommonly, dependably good. I basically changed nothing; just had to work with scaling down this huge recipe to better suit my needs. So I hope the following helps others who need to do the same: scaling this down to 16 servings resulted in 12, perfectly shaped and sized muffins. An 8-oz. can of crushed pineapple and one small to medium sized zucchini worked well. Hubs keeps telling me he likes neither muffins nor quick breads yet he always seems to like what I bake, including these – he had two, AFTER supper. Pleasantly sweet, not heavily spiced, with a tender, light, moist crumb that’s cake-like in texture. Just a nice, breakfast type muffin to accompany a cup of coffee or tea. These would have been fine as is, but I did give them a sprinkle of cinnamon–sugar just cuz. For those who really have to have their muffins sweeter, a simple glaze of powdered sugar and the drained pineapple juice would be awesome good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
These were great muffins- very moist. I think next time I will try using half oil, half applesauce as they were a little greasy on the paper liners. Good taste combination though- will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
These are great muffins! I did use olive oil instead of vegetable oil because that was all that I had on hand. I also used the pineapple juice because I got distracted by my kiddos and poured the whole thing in - worked fine. I would also be interested in how to eliminate some of the fat. I thought I had over greased my pans but maybe not... These would be great for breakfast and they're not too sweet so they would be fine with dinner or just a quick snack as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Make the big batch. They won't last! I read lots of reviews and my favorite changes are replacing 1/2 of the flour with white whole wheat flour and replacing 1/2 of the oil with unsweetened applesauce. And, be sure to drain the zucchini a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
These are positively awesome! They are so moist and delicious. They do have a lighter texture than many muffins, but I don't see this as a particular problem. I halved the recipe as I only had an 8 oz can of pineapple, but it worked out fine. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Savory Zucchini Chard Muffins

These Savory Zucchini and Chard Muffins are just right for brunch or lunch.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States