Pineapple Upside Down Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Bri
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Loved these! Of course baking from scratch is always nice, but this is a great way to make a yummy finger food snack without the extra work. To me adding the pineapple juice to the Duncan Hines cake mix gave it a real extra flavor boost (thanks for the tip!) I don't understand people who rate recipes down for using a mix aid, IF YOU DON'T LIKE MIX THEN DON'T MAKE THE RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I've been making this basic recipe for years with a couple differences: I used a yellow cake mix with the juice from the pineapple in place of the water (add water to the juice if necessary). I've used pineapple tidbits and rings cut up to fit instead of the crushed pineapple. Crushed pineapple can sometimes make the cake under it too mushy sometimes. Instead of putting the batter directly into the muffin pan, I used paper liners which is so much easier for lunches and serving at picnics. It's a surprise when they take the paper off to eat it! It's basically sweet enough for me to eat like this but occasionaly I've dusted powdered sugar on top of the cupcakes after slightly cooled. Oh, and if you're a coconut lover, add a little to the brown sugar before laying in the pineapple and cherries. This is a great recipe anyway you make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Philipsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
love these lil guys! its def more effort to do so many individual cakes but as far as presentation they're well worth it, make a cute idea for partys!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Oh these came out wonderfully. I used my larger muffin pans to make single serving cakes so there was more pineapple at the top of the cakes. I would recommend this recipe to all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I am a scatch baker as well, but we all need a short cut now and then. Made these for Easter today, along with a turkey, ham, ETC. Made 3 desserts and this one came out of the oven just in time to be served warm! Can you say Yummy!!! And pretty :) Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christineservando

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shelleycat89
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
This was very easy and very moist and delicious.We don't like the cherries, so I did not use those and I used about 1 1/2 tsp of butter in each dish and a heaping Tbsp of Dark Brown Sugar in each. I also used Pineapple Tidbits instead of crushed pineapple. I only had just over 1 cup of pineapple juice, so I added 1/3 cup of water. Definitely a must make if you like Pineapple Upside Down Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I actually made these the other day my kids said it tatses better when i make a homemade batter than with the duncan pineapple supreme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I don't know why I never thought to make little individual cakes like this before! I made my own cake from scratch but followed this recipe for the instructions with glaze, assembly, and cooking time. Delicious! Each little cupcake had just the right amount of caramel glaze and the little tid-bits of pineapple were so much easier to eat than the big rings in the traditional recipe. This on is a keeper! The kids had so much fun helping with this too. (I discovered after that the kids used 1 T. of melted butter in each muffin cup not 1 t. maybe that's why it was so good. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VictoriaSe49896
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I made these this morning and they turned out great. Some people were saying to use pineapple tidbits so to see which would be better I made half with crushed and half with tidbits. The crushed looked and tasted better by leaps and bounds. Otherwise I made them per the recipe with no alterations of substitutions, which is not like me. Here is my advice - Use parchment paper not wax, they stick worse to wax. Move them to a cool place in the kitchen both before and after inverting them, they easily get "sticky" on the bottom (cake side). I found that 20 minutes was not enough so I went about 24 to get them done. I also found it was a pain trying to push down the pineapple while keeping the cherry in the middle and covering the bottom completely. Put the pineapple down and then push the cherry through and down to the bottom to make this a ton easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I used fresh cherry halves, pineapple canned in light syrup, and lemon cake mix to which I added a lemons worth of lemon zest and the same of juice along with the pineapple water - from the can. Used apple sauce in place of oil and only two eggs (that is all I had). I used about half a teaspoon of brown sugar AND of agave syrup on each of my cupcakes. They were pretty and deliciously moist!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States