Pineapple Upside-Down Cake VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly! As my family is not too picky they loved it just the way it says. My husband must have eaten half of it by himself!! Thanks for the share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
It was a basic recipe with a simple flavor. I think the cake was a little to light of a batter. When I tried to cut it, the carmalized brown sugar came right off the cake. Also, I took the advice of some reviews and uses a 9x13, thinking my cast iron wasn't deep enough, the cake barely raised and was spread to thin. I think I would use yellow cake mix next time, might have more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Made as directed, subbed the juice from the canned pineapple for the water in the cake mix. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I make a similar recipe, but I don't use maraschino cherries. I use two large cans of pineapple and a French Vanilla cake mix. I also use the juice from the pineapple in the cake mix. This recipe is great because it is just loaded with pineapple and looks great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I used the white Cake mix for next time I think I'll use the yellow like Everyone suggested. I also used the Crushed pineapple And overall it turned out great. It was my first time making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt H

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Hmm... I had high hopes for this cake and was disappointed! The only changes I made were subbing the juice for water for the cake batter and used a 9 by 13 inch dish. This was a soggy mess (I called it mud) and the only way my hubby enjoyed it was under ice cream. It really did turn out more like a topping than a cake. I'm a rather competent cook so I hesitate to say it was me.. Though with all the great reviews maybe it was? I have to try this again as my daughter wants a pineapple upside down cake for her birthday. I will update the review if I did in fact go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I thought this would be difficult to make in a cast iron skillet. It was not and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I didn't have white cake mix but I did have Pineapple Supreme. I used the pineapple juice for my liquid and had to add a little water to meet the instructions on the box of cake mix. Everything fit nicely in my grandmother's old 13 inch iron skillet. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TashiLynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
My husband really likes pineapple upside down cake but he loves this version. The cast iron skillet makes the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Talena
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I didn't have a iron skillet so I used a 9x13 pan. The cake was delicious but turned into a soggy mess by the second day. I'm not sure if using the skillet would have dried the cake out more so that it lasted longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 548) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States