Pineapple Upside-Down Cake VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
I took most of the users advice, I used the drained juice in the cake batter and had to add a little water to meet cake mix directions.Also, I used a 11" skillet and it was almost full. My twist was to mix 1 tsp. cinnamon to brown sugar before I spread over the butter and I also added 1/4 cup shredded coconut after I layered the cherries and pineapples. It came out great and my husband could not wait for it to cool! He pleaded for a piece before it had solidified. He said " babe this is good" his highest rating :). So thanks Anne, hope I can repay you. -UPDATE 6/17/03 I made this for our family doctor as a thank you for his extraordinary care and compassion, he loved it, wanted to run away with me-hahahha. 10/02/2005-For gifts, I now use both rings and crushed pineapple and place cherries in each ring and in gaps. Cake is gorgeous this way and each ring is a slice. I bake in two cake pans to make two cakes-one to give and one to keep.11/06-New Twist, we soak the drained crushed AND ring pineapple in RUM, drain and then use. OMG :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
464 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Made this in a 9x13 pan and it came out looking so impressive! My family said it not only looked better than the ones in the bakery...it tasted a million times better! I used a yellow cake mix since that's what I had on hand and it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
275 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
Yum! I used a Duncan Hines Pineapple Surpreme instead of white cake and subbed the juice for the water and OMG. Make SURE you make it in a cast iron pot. It makes a BEAUTIFUL cake... and it was wonderful! My family wants this again already, I just made it 3 days ago!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
I do not have an iron skillet, so I made it in a regular 9 by 13 cake pan and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILRACHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Higginsport, Ohio, USA
Living In: Batavia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
Excellent basic recipe. I did not have an iron skillet so I used a 9x13 baking pan. Instead of sliced pineapples I used crushed pineapples then placed cherries on the pineapples. This was the first time I ever tried to make a pineapple upside down cake and it was great! A lot easier than I thought it would be. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
I just made this this morning to bring with me to a picnic after an exercise class. (Yes, I know, not the healthiest choice for a dessert!) Each of the ladies took a second helping and asked me for the recipe! I chopped up the leftover fresh pineapple that I had grilled as a side dish last night in lieu of the canned variety. Because I did not have any pineapple juice to use in the cake mix, I used half water and half rum (~1/3 cup rum for a total of 2/3 c. liquid). This added a very nice "adult" flavor. I used a yellow cake mix and skipped the cherries. Next time I might add some pecans to the bottom before baking. Did require about an extra 10-15 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
I made this for a luncheon, and it turned out fabulous. My mother-in-law called it the best she had ever eaten. No one would know that it was a mix! I used a yellow cake mix, like others suggested. Also, I used a 10 inch iron skillet, but still didn't fit all of the batter in- maybe 3/4. I also like to use pineapple tidbits instead of rings- more pineapple flavor in each slice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
Wow...this is GREAT! So easy ! I used a 13 inch Cast Iron skillet, (well seasoned) to prevent sticking. The cake came out about 2 inches thick. I increased butter to 1-1/4 sticks and used all pineapple juice to substitute the water. My son and his friends devoured this cake. Making two, next time. A keeper for sure. Thanks Anne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
YUM!!! This was so good and SO easy. I didn't have a problem with the cake running over but it did stick a bit to the cast iron skillet. Next time I'll try using no-stick spray. I made this for my mom's birthday and she and the rest of the family enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
My husband requested a pinaeapple upside down cake for his birthday and I was so glad I picked this one. He told me that it was the best he has ever had (and I am not known for my good cooking). I didn't have a cast iron skillet, so I just used a 9x13 pan and I used a pineapple cake mix instead of white. Maybe it was all the butter in the topping, but it was a very moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 540) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States