Pineapple Upside-Down Cake VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I made this cake Sunday for a church supper and it was gone before any of the actual supper items were! I really loved doing it in my skillet, too. I felt just like a pioneer woman :) I used yellow cake instead of white and used the pineapple juice in place of water in the batter. I followed a previous reviewer's tip and filled in the gaps between the rings with crushed pineapple. It was so easy, looked so beautiful and came out better than I'd hoped, everything I hope for when trying a new recipe. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amie.mccoy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Fantastic! I used two 8" or 9" rounds pans. For one of the cakes, I soaked the pineapple rings in rum as someone else suggested and the other I left plain. Both were delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bells67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Temperance, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Great quick recipe! Very yummy and easy to do! My daughter loves to make this one, looks very impressive and is super easy for her to do all by herself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
This was delish!!! I made it for my kids for the kick off of the new "Psych" season. (If you are not familiar, you have to find a pineapple in each episode.) It was a big hit! My mother even licked her plate --- and she is a propper lady! It was very moist --- almost too moist as it was a bit messy to cut --- but who cares when it tastes this good. I took the advice of other reviewers and added the pineapple juice to the batter. I also disolved the brown sugar in the butter. It was a perfect fit or my 11" cast iron skillet. Thanks for posting the recipe Anne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This cake is so very good and easy to make. Made mine in a cake pan but be sure not to over load pan. Put rest of batter in separate oven safe bowl for an individual serving. BE SURE to add the pineapple juice into the cake mixture. I used just a little more butter (not less) and a little more brown sugar. Came out moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DocChef
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I only used 1 cup of brown sugar (instead of 1.5 cups), and the cake turned out beautiful and tasty. The cake wasn't as moist as I would have imagined it (since there is a layer of butter at the bottom), but the butter made it easy to come out of the pan (I used a 11inch stainless steel flat bottom pan)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tennessee Boy
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Great recipe. I used a French Vanilla cakemix and mixed by hand, liquid and semi-liquid ingredients first, then added to cake mix. Whisking and some labor seem to make things taste better. Used a cast iron skillet and also used pineapple chunks instead of rings, because that's what we had. However, I've never liked cutting the rings when I eat PUDC, so this work better on multiple levels. This is a high impact, low effort dessert, so I strongly recommend you make it a showcase part of the evening. Make it after the meal while everyone is chatting and sipping, then put a cake plate on the table, shake the cake in the skillet to loosen it a bit, then flop it out in front of everyone. If you get the results I did, there will be ooohing and ahhhing and then the smell of warm cake will waft up. Everyone hands down thought this was quite an event, and gobbled the cake while saying it was one of the best things they had ever eaten. I had chunks and cherries all across the golden sugary bottom of the cake, and hope I can post a picture somehow, as it looked very beautiful. You will have your cake and eat it too...until it's gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tennessee Boy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This was an awesome cake! I used a yellow cake mix. For the 1 cup water called for I used 1/2 cup juice from the pineapple and 1/2 cup coconut rum. I baked it in my 12" Pampered Chef skillet. I used one can of pineapple ring and then filled in all the empty area with crushed pineapple so there was pineapple in every bite! It was totally AMAZING! Moist, the topping had a little crunch to it. Everyone loved it! Will make again and again! Next time I'm going to try using fresh pineapple and will soak it for a bit in the coconut rum and then use the juice and rum for the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Waaaa! What did I do wrong? I thoroughly drained the pineapple and assembled as instructed After 30 mins. the cake appeared done (toothpick came out clean) and I let rest 10 mins. When I flipped it over, the cake was only baked around the edges....the middle was raw batter near the bottom of the pan--even though the tester came out clean?! *****FOLLOW-UP**** I flipped the cake back into the pan, returned to the oven for another 10-12 mins and it actually turned out great, all things considered. My son was helping me, and he had added more pineapple to the pan (we used crushed) without draining it. The added moisture caused the cake to need extra baking time. Even though it started as a flop, it is already half eaten. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 546) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States