Pineapple Upside-Down Cake VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I used the Pineapple Supreme cake mix and a combo of the drained pineapple juice and pineapple rum for the water. I use an 11 inch cast iron skillet and the presentation is always lovely. And it stays super moist, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by connorsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartville, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I also used the pineapple juice in the cake mix, I used a 10 inch iron skillet and baked the cake for 33 minutes. It was great. The only thing I did different was to add 1/2 cup chopped pecans to the spaces between the pineapple. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I love this recipe because it is easy to make, and tastes great. I use 1 1/2 cans of sliced pineapple and substitute the liquid (water) in the cake recipe with the leftover pineapple juice (I use all the juice of 2 cans for one box cake mix). I also use all of the cherries in the cherry jar. Comes out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Gardner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Middle River, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This is basically the same recipe my grandmother always used, except she made her own cake from scratch. When you use a 9-inch iron skillet, it does rise above the skillet initially, but it sinks down when cooling. It's a 5-star recipe ANY day of the week!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I made this cake Sunday for a church supper and it was gone before any of the actual supper items were! I really loved doing it in my skillet, too. I felt just like a pioneer woman :) I used yellow cake instead of white and used the pineapple juice in place of water in the batter. I followed a previous reviewer's tip and filled in the gaps between the rings with crushed pineapple. It was so easy, looked so beautiful and came out better than I'd hoped, everything I hope for when trying a new recipe. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amie.mccoy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Fantastic! I used two 8" or 9" rounds pans. For one of the cakes, I soaked the pineapple rings in rum as someone else suggested and the other I left plain. Both were delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bells67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Temperance, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Great quick recipe! Very yummy and easy to do! My daughter loves to make this one, looks very impressive and is super easy for her to do all by herself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
This was delish!!! I made it for my kids for the kick off of the new "Psych" season. (If you are not familiar, you have to find a pineapple in each episode.) It was a big hit! My mother even licked her plate --- and she is a propper lady! It was very moist --- almost too moist as it was a bit messy to cut --- but who cares when it tastes this good. I took the advice of other reviewers and added the pineapple juice to the batter. I also disolved the brown sugar in the butter. It was a perfect fit or my 11" cast iron skillet. Thanks for posting the recipe Anne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This cake is so very good and easy to make. Made mine in a cake pan but be sure not to over load pan. Put rest of batter in separate oven safe bowl for an individual serving. BE SURE to add the pineapple juice into the cake mixture. I used just a little more butter (not less) and a little more brown sugar. Came out moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 550) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States