Pineapple Upside-Down Cake VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Omg, this cake was so delicious,.moist and good! Everyone LOVED IT. Even my boyfriend that doesn't have a sweet tooth kept asking for more! We ate pretty much half of the cake between 4 people. So what i did was used yellow cake mix, used pineapple juice instead of water to prepare cake batter and a splash of OJ and 1/2c of oil. Everything else i did the same. Oh and i don't own a cast iron skillet so i used a 9x13 pan. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
First time I ever made pineapple upside down cake. It was easy & a big hit at the baby shower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I don,t use store bought cake mixes,I make my own dry cake mix and the difference is outstanding with fresh pineapple,I,m not a big cake eater but I could change my mind with this wonderful recipe. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I made this the night before in a 9x13 pan. I followed the recipe exactly and made sure to flip it upside down into another 9x13 pan after 10 minutes. It did not stick to the pan and was the "right" side up when I brought it to the party. It was super good when microwaved 15 seconds and served with cool whip or vanilla ice cream. If I make it again and don't care about the presentation I think I will make it with pineapple tidbits so it is easier to cut smaller pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Czarne Oki
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I try this recipes first how direction,but was not so good.Next time I make some change.First I spread soft butter in the pan13x9,next sprinkle brown sugar and rest how recipes.This time was so good and much easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Czarne Oki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Very easy and nice tasting recipe. I think I would have liked it better if it didn't use a boxed cake mix. Although that made the cake easier and quicker to make, I didn't love the flavor if the cake mix and that's why I gave this 4 rather than 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I loved this. So much easier then making the cake part from scratch. I also used a 9X13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Byers, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This was excellent but only gave it a 4 because I thought there was a bit much brown sugar. I used 1 1/2 cups firmly packed, but maybe the recipe didn't mean for it to be firmly packed since it does not say that. So maybe I used too much! Next time I'm cutting back a bit and I bet we will be able to give it a 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Loved it! Absolutely the best recipe I've found!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
One more suggestion to clarify this recipe. The baking instructions on the cake mix really don't work for this because you are putting a whole cake mix in a 9-inch skillet. I found it worked to bake at 350 for 35 minutes, then lower the temperature to 325 for ten minutes. With that adjustment, I had a very good result. Without lowering the temp, the outside would have over-baked before the center was done. Served this to guests with vanilla ice cream last night and it was delicious and beautiful. For those that had overflow from a 9-inch skillet, I think it's worth pointing out that the height of the sides/walls of skillets also vary. Mine was about 2-1/4 inches. Hope others find this information to be helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 573) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States