Pineapple Upside-Down Cake VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I added 1/4 buttermilk, pineapple juice and sour cream. I used a rectangular baking dish which wasn't enough batter so next attempt I'm going to double up on the batter for more cake. I also dont cut my cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Very good cake! I loved cooking it in the cast iron skillet (although after 30 minutes, it was only half cooked: so I covered it with tin foil and cooked it another 20 minutes) It came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This is a hit at our house! Made a couple changes, just cause the white cake didn't sound good to me. I used a pineapple cake mix and added 1 small pkg of vanilla instant pudding. I used a deep cast iron skillet and did have to cook it a little longer.. used a butter knife in the center till it came out clean. Very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I had to make this for 60 people so I just increased everything, but did it the way it was written and it was perfect. My sorority ladies loved it, and I was very pleased. I will use this again soon. AOII Chef
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AOIIchef

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Barrow, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I followed the directions for the recipe but screwed up by adding the full amount of water per the box cake recipe. Realizing my mistake I added some pineapple juice anyway. The cake came out extremely moist and dense like a pound cake. All around it was very good. Next time I may add a little dark carribean rum to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recipeDawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy B
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I made this for my sister's birthday and she loved it! I used a 10 inch cast iron skillet and had enough batter left over for 6 upside-down cupcakes. The cake and cupcakes turned out beautiful, great presentation. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I have made this cake 5 or 6 times and it is wonderful! We don't have an iron skillet so I just use our regular oven safe skillet and it turns out great. We usually serve this with cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Blosser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
NOT enough pineapple and sugar didn't completely dissolve! I tried putting it all in my 9" cake pan and baking it. NOT good! The way I found to fix the recipe is first to divide the butter and sugar between two 9" pans. Second, open a second can of sliced pineapple (one can is not enough for 2 pans). You will end up with a few extra slices of pineapple which can be eaten or torn to fill in the holes. Make the cake mix according to directions. You can substitute the drained pineapple juice for the water the cake mix needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This was a big hit at my Bunco party! I made two cakes in 8" round pans and added a sprinkle of cinnamon sugar on top of the brown sugar...devine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Too much butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 544) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States