Pineapple Upside-Down Cake VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This cake is amazing- I made it in a 9 x 13 glass pan. Since I used a fresh pineapple there was no juice so I subbed out some water in the cake mix with juice from a freshly squeezed lemon. I used sweet butter so I added some salt on top of the pineapple and butter. I used yellow cake but I could see it working with whatever. Gross stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Very easy! Love it. I did take the advice of others and I also use the juice from the pineapples. Only as an option, I accidentally used yellow cake mix instead of white one time and actually like it a little better :). The white cake mix is good too. Very versatile recipe. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Delicious!! This cake is wonderful. I didn't know what size cast iron skillet to use, so I used 9X13 pan. I didn't attempt to turn it out of the pan since I didn't have a tray or plate big enough to hold the entire cake. So we just cut pieces while still in the pan. Not pretty, but very good. I had to make myself stop eating it. I used a white cake mix, but substituted pineapple juice for the water. I also added 1t almond extract and cut back a little on the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Easy and delicious. In addition to the pineapple rings, I fill the gaps between the rings with canned crushed pineapple. This gives enough leftover pineapple juice to substitute all water for juice. If you can get a pineapple cake mix instead of white cake, even better. This is a regular in my circle of friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Great simple recipe. Nice, but VERY sweet. The first time, I took the sugar down to a single cup, and parts of the side of the cake were still pure sugar. Second time I reduced to about 1/3 cup butter and 3/4 cup of sugar, and it's still plenty sweet. Looks nice in a 9x13 but better in the skillet - really nice to take to a potluck or event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I did not have an iron skillet, melted the butter in a 9x13 glass cake pan,sprinkled brown sugar over the butter, added the pineapple slices and cherries, added the cake batter (prepared according to manufacture directions). Once it was done, I turned it over onto a cookie sheet, it came out beautifully & everyone enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Really easy, followed the recipe exactly. My husband, who hates sweets but loves pineapple upside down cake, ate most of it in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamSBD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This was the best pineapple upside down cake I've ever had and the family agreed. I didn't change a single thing & cooking it in the cast iron was the key in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This was a fantastic recipe! The cast iron skillet makes an amazing finish, and my edges were slightly crispy - so good. I did add cinnamon to the sugar as suggested by another reviewer. In the future I think I will saute the pineapples initially, and then follow through with this recipe. I'm also wondering about fried banana upside down cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy Kucel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Fiance and Soon-To-Be Father in Law told me how much they LOVE pineapple Upside-Down Cake, but that they both are "very weird about it and are hard to please because most people simply don't make it right" . . . Made this recipe for them and it has been such a hit!! At least once a month or so, one of them are begging me to make it to the point that I keep the ingredients for it in the cabinet at all times!! The only change that I have made to it is including a half of a can or so of crushed pineapple to the mix and substituting the water for pineapple juice from the canned pineapple (as others have suggested). I was nervous to make the changes because I did not want it to become "too pineappley" but it turned out PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delaware City, Delaware, USA
Living In: Clayton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 544) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States