Pineapple Upside-Down Cake VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
12/12 don't have cast iron skillet so i used 9x13. melted butter on stove and mixed in brown sugar, a little less than 1.5 cups. spread in bottom of pan, arranged pineapple slices and cherries on top, then poured in batter (replace water in mix w/juice from can). when done inverted onto cookie sheet, then when cooled carefully transfer back to pan. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Perfect as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I always like to follow recipe ingredients to a T, so I can form a more accurate opinion, and when I followed this recipe, it was 'good' but disgustingly drenched in butter and entirely too sweet. Now that I had the "original" out of the way, I tweaked things accordingly by halving the butter to 1/4C and decreased brown sugar to a very loose 1/2C..had friends be guinea pigs and they all said it was good and tastes right, not too buttery or too sweet and have commented on its moistness. Also, I've used yellow cake mix instead of white. I only looked for this recipe bc the bf said it's his fav; him mentioning it is the first I've ever heard and I think it's ok. I think it's good but not really something I would crave myself. Perhaps I will re-review in the future by actually using white cake mix for my version of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Perfect and easy recipe! I use it every Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Janel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
love love love this recipe!! It's so easy and it came out beautiful! I did use less butter and less brown sugar (only because thats what I had on hand)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CristinaMarie
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
It was a hit! I did decorate with the cherries as seen in the picture. Since I do not have an iron skillet I used a regular round cake pan. It came out beautifully! I will be using this recipe again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This is really good, i made in a 9 x 13 pan and it came out great. I think i will try a pineapple flavored cake mix the next time to give it even more flavor. Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
It is SO easy and SO delicious. I have had requests for the recipe every time I serve it. I do not use a full 1 1/2 cup of brown sugar. I like things sweet but I think one cup of brown sugar is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I personally am not a big fan of pineapple but I was making Mock Lobster and had to open a can of pineapple. So what the heck! I did not use our cast iron skillet as my husband did not properly season it (again) after using. I used 2 pie pans. I also used 1/2 pineapple juice and 1/2 water (ran low). I didn't have the cherries (but figured it was just for show/fluff). I added vanilla pudding to the cake mix to make sure it wasn't dry to taste. I made 1 with the pineapple and also made one w/o; but the one w/o I used cinnamon-brown sugar butter and then coated it with the brown sugar.... YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huntmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Perry, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
My sister asked for a pineapple upsidedown cake for her birthday. I made this for her. She LOVED it. She went on and on about how moist and flavorful this was. I didn't to tell her how easy it was to make. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy LaPorta Rainwater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 573) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States