Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
This was moist several days after. Followed the recipe to a T, don't change anything. Easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Princeton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I prepared the cake as written except for having used Duncan Hines Butter Cake mix. It was very dry. And as many have noted, in order to cover the top layer with pineapple you need to have a 16 oz can of pineapple slices. An 8 oz. can only yields 4 slices. I won't make this again without a lot of tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nevajane
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Awesome recipe. Always made this in 9 x 13 pan. Only thing different was the cherries. When I got the cherries out of the fridge I found my husband had eaten all the cherries. So I spooned cherry juice into the middle of the pineapple ring The juice managed to spread a little which gave it a mixed glow. Only cooked for 32 min. No problem stacking the layers. Only let it cool for 10 min. Came out beautiful for someone that never gets it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gwen
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Loved it!!!! Followed the recipe and just added guava sauce on the second layer and top. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Very easy to make and it was delicious! I only had pineapple chunks, but they were no problem and I added more cherries than if you just put them inside the pineapple rings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
The cake came out wonderfully! It was very moist! My husband is not a cook at all, he barely knows were anything goes in the kitchen and he would be able to make this cake! The top didn't harden like otter reviewers did. I omitted the coconut because I don't care much for coconut and I used a bundt pan instead of making it a layer cake. Other than that I followed directions verbatim. I would like to find a homemade version of this recipe and try that! Half of the cake was gone the first night I made it and only 5 people got some and one doesn't even care for pineapple, so, needless to say I will be making this again, and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NansBrown

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Peterson
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Pineapple!!!Who would have ever thought this fruit could be come a head turner!!! I LOVE LOVE this pineapple upside down cake! To make it yummier I used 1 (8oz) cream cheese, using with about 1/4 cup of some of the left over flaked coconut and 1 tsp of vanilla extract, using a hand mixer to incorporate it together for 2 minutes. I reserved enough of it to use on the sides of the cake and stuck more coconut on the sides and I used the rest between the top and bottom layer which was very tasty and kept them to stick together. Look for the pictures I submitted so you can see what I actually mean. I didn't want any of the taste of the cherry since cherry isn't the best tasting fruit especially after being in the preservatives in the liquid it comes in, I just used it as a garnish, putting one in the ring of each pineapple after it was baked. I also sprayed butter flavored spray oil ONLY in the bottom cake pan then used wax paper (or you can use parchment paper)on top of that and sprayed the top of the wax paper with a little more of the spray so that the bottom cake would not stick or be dry. It is the moistest yummiest cake ever!! This cake is absolutely fail proof and people will think you got it from a bakery; it's that good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Peterson

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I've been using this recipe for a long time! Can substitute with just about any boxed cake mix on hand, but I like it best with a butter recipe yellow (Duncan Hines, I think). Thanks for a solid go-to, easy dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by southernlivingok
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This was so easy to make and it tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States