Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Good basic recipe but it became delicious when I made a few changes. I used a 9x13 pan. Put in butter, brown sugar, coconut then a drained 20oz can of sliced pineapple in single layer. Topped that with a yellow butter cake mix using the 1 c of the drained juice. I did not add any crushed pineapple nor cherries because I found they made the cake way too sweet. Baked at 350 for 35 min. Remove from pan after 15 min to prevent sticking. It was fantastic and everyone loved it. I would give it more stars, but I had to make too many changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BJ Meyer
Reviewed: May 9, 2015
Great cake. I only used the pineapple slices not the crushed ones in a 13X9.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
My father in law taught me to bake this amost 39 yrs ago. It is an oldie but goodie!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
This was moist several days after. Followed the recipe to a T, don't change anything. Easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Princeton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I prepared the cake as written except for having used Duncan Hines Butter Cake mix. It was very dry. And as many have noted, in order to cover the top layer with pineapple you need to have a 16 oz can of pineapple slices. An 8 oz. can only yields 4 slices. I won't make this again without a lot of tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nevajane
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Awesome recipe. Always made this in 9 x 13 pan. Only thing different was the cherries. When I got the cherries out of the fridge I found my husband had eaten all the cherries. So I spooned cherry juice into the middle of the pineapple ring The juice managed to spread a little which gave it a mixed glow. Only cooked for 32 min. No problem stacking the layers. Only let it cool for 10 min. Came out beautiful for someone that never gets it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gwen
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Loved it!!!! Followed the recipe and just added guava sauce on the second layer and top. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Very easy to make and it was delicious! I only had pineapple chunks, but they were no problem and I added more cherries than if you just put them inside the pineapple rings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
The cake came out wonderfully! It was very moist! My husband is not a cook at all, he barely knows were anything goes in the kitchen and he would be able to make this cake! The top didn't harden like otter reviewers did. I omitted the coconut because I don't care much for coconut and I used a bundt pan instead of making it a layer cake. Other than that I followed directions verbatim. I would like to find a homemade version of this recipe and try that! Half of the cake was gone the first night I made it and only 5 people got some and one doesn't even care for pineapple, so, needless to say I will be making this again, and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NansBrown

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States