Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2005
I've made this cake several times now, always to rave reviews. A few notes: - I've tried Pillsbury Moist Supreme Butter Recipe Yellow cake mix, and both Duncan Hines Butter Recipe Golden and Pineapple cake mixes. The pineapple cake mix gave a stronger pineapple flavor (of course), but I got the best/moistest cake out of the Pillsbury mix. - I've had good luck with Land o Lakes Baking Butter...otherwise I use the ultra creamy variety. - **Try the coconut!** It doesn't taste like you think it will. It adds SO much to the flavor/look of the cake! - It's sometimes hard to gauge the baking time with this one...the toothpick test can be deceiving. Just keep an eye on it. - Another reviewer suggested this and I always do it because it WORKS...after layering the cakes, place the pan, upside-down, back onto the top layer. Remove it after about half an hour; this should take care of the cracking problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
388 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
This was excellent!! I used a 9 x 13 glass pan put the pineapples, brown sugar, cherries, and butter on the bottom a little bit of the cake mix and then the crushed pineapple and the rest of the cake mix. I think it turned out awesome! Thanks alot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
309 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMDAD4KIDDIES

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
This would have been 5 star if I didnt tweek the 2nd time around. First off, Golden Butter Cake mix, instead of plain yellow changes this from being just ok, to incredible. The amount of liquid needed for Golden Butter is also the perfect amt. for what you get out of the pinapple cans. 2nd, the cooking time is way too long. I'd start checking this after 25 min, as over cooking is one of the main reasons it cracks/falls apart when taking out of the pans. I have yet to throw out any of the left-overs on this cake, as the whole thing ALWAYS gets eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
230 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
Great cake - my only complaint is that in the recipe instructions, it says to let the cake sit for 30 minutes after taking it out of the oven - BAD IDEA! The topping stuck to the pan when it cooled, and I ruined both layers when I removed them from the pans. It still tasted good, but didn't look all that pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
Very tasty, without being overly sweet. I simplified and slightly modified the recipe: Butter was increased to 1/2 cup. I placed it in an ungreased 9x13 pan, and let it melt in the oven while the oven was heating. Then, sprinkled the brown sugar, coconut, and a 20 oz can of drained crushed pineapple, and the drained marischino cherries over the melted butter. (I didn't use the sliced pineapple). When mixing the cake mix, I added 1/2 tsp. coconut extract, along with the pineapple juice. The baking time was a bit longer, due to pan size... about 35 minutes. The coconut extract flavor didn't "jump out", but gave the cake a nice, fresh, (not from a mix) taste. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
Great cake that tasted so much like my grandma's homemade one! I omitted the coconut because hers didn't have it, and it was just fine. Be careful not to shake the layer with the pineapple slices when you remove it because it breaks the cake. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
This recipe is wonderful!!! The first time I made it it was good, but not great. The second time that I made it though, instead of a yellow cake box, I used the Butter Golden cake box. It made all of the difference. Also I use an extra couple of tablespoons of butter and brown sugar for the toppings. I received so many compliments. The cake vanished, presentation was also beautiful!!! This is going to be a permanent staple in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
I love pineapple so I decided to make this and it was wonderful! I took the advice of MomDad4Kiddies, and used a 9x13 pan. I decided to leave the coconut out. I layered the pineapples, brown sugar & cherries on the bottom, then half the cake mix, then crushed pineapple and last the rest of the cake mix. Very easy to make and tasted great! Thanks Donna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
I also used a yellow butter-recipe mix and it was moist and delicious. But even though I only cooled it for 15 mins., the top had big, ugly cracks next to the pineapple slices because both layers were higher in the middle and sloped down on the sides. This is usually the problem I have when I make a 2-layer cake. How do I prevent this problem??? Please help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
This was a DELICIOUS CAKE! IF anyone made this cake and didn't like it, then they did something VERY wrong in the cooking process! Not only was this cake moist and full of flavor but it was so pretty when it came out! I didn't do the double layer. I used a regular oblong cake pan and baked it the traditional way. My hubby loved this recipe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOI_LOUIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States