Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This is a keeper. I'm going to try without the coconut next time, since we aren't coconut fans. It does give good flavor but I don't like the texture of coconut. It was still good though. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I'm sure it'll taste good but it cracked. :( I guess its not my day. i think next time i'll flip the bottom layer on the platter and the top layer on a silicon mat. wait till cool and then try to layer. it might be easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
A yummy cake, but not the punch of a pineapple upside down cake that I'm used to. I'd say increase the butter, brown sugar and pineapple to create more of an upside down cake sensation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eatontown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Batesburg-Leesville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I make my own cake mix and it is perfect. Use 2 cups flour, 1 1/2 cup sugar, 4 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp salt, 3 eggs, 1/3 cup vegetable oil, and 1 cup of the reserved pineapple juice from the crushed and sliced pineapple. My cake never cracks and my daughter's boyfriend family always raves about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Very interesting spin to pineapple upsided down cake. The addition of the coconut was clever ad tasted great! Why didn't I think of that? I only gave it 4 stars because like other reviewers, I found that the top cake really wanted to fall off.It was a like stand-off between me and the top cake If you find a way to solve this problem then it will be 5 stars for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Made this cake with the Butter Golden cake mix, no coconut, and extra pineapple slices on top...pretty and delicious! Using a 9-inch round pan, needed to cook for about 26 minutes (not the 40-50 recommended)...Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Easy to make, Taste was good, but it was much too small. The picture looked HUGE. Better double up next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
We loved it! I now see that I made a mistake that was fortunate. I used 20 oz cans of pineapple. Had plenty of juice to use in the cake mix. Also added a little coconut to bottom layer. Used pans that have turning lever to release cake. Next time I'll add the cherries after it's baked so they show better. --Has anyone tried putting rum in? Please advise. Don't want to make it sweeter though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Very easy very good. Only think I'd say would be to let the cakes cool a while longer so they don't fall apart when you stack them. My top layer fell apart as I was stacking it, it was still really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynisa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Manchester, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
After reading a lot of the reviews and seeing how some were having problems with it sticking. I read in my old recipe books that were my husbands great grandmothers books, it says to line your pan with waxed paper and then put all your ingrediants in and bake. Should solve any problem your having with sticking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States