Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Sensational moist cake, that's a breeze to prepare. I toasted the coconuts for 15 mins at 350* and it really added another flavor profile that blended perfectly; also added coconut and vanilla extract. Baked for 45-50 mins and inverted the cake immediately. I prefer not to layer the cake. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This is a wonderful version of an old classic. I basically did not change anything but did omit the coconut as I did not have any. It was delicious. The only thing I will change the next time is to use a 20 oz can of pineapple slices as my 8 oz can only had 4 slices and I wanted more on the top layer. I also will add some maraschino cherry juice with the pineapple juice to the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This is a great recipe! I took some of the left over pineapple circles and cut them in half and lined them up along the side sof the pans. Once the batter was poured in, they stayed in place. They stuck up above the batter, but once the cakes were baked, they were covered. The pineapple halves made for a beautiful design on the sides of the cake when they were stacked on top of each other. I also agree, the Pillsbury was the best mix, it was very moist and really tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I gave this 4 stars ONLY because when I cooked it with the coconut it wasn't that good. Without it the cake was spectacular! I also tried making it as mini cakes by using a large muffin pan. I placed the butter and sugar in the bottom of each muffin hole and then placed a whole slice of pineapple with a cherry in the center in the bottom. Afterwards I poured the batter on top and cooked for about 23 min. Definitely use a BUTTER yellow cake mix. There is a difference. If you make these you will not be disappointed! This technique yielded about 9 mini cakes for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This is a great looking, even better tasting cake. I will make this again and again! It turned out perfectly and looks like it took much, much more effort. GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This is a keeper. I'm going to try without the coconut next time, since we aren't coconut fans. It does give good flavor but I don't like the texture of coconut. It was still good though. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I'm sure it'll taste good but it cracked. :( I guess its not my day. i think next time i'll flip the bottom layer on the platter and the top layer on a silicon mat. wait till cool and then try to layer. it might be easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
A yummy cake, but not the punch of a pineapple upside down cake that I'm used to. I'd say increase the butter, brown sugar and pineapple to create more of an upside down cake sensation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eatontown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Batesburg-Leesville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I make my own cake mix and it is perfect. Use 2 cups flour, 1 1/2 cup sugar, 4 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp salt, 3 eggs, 1/3 cup vegetable oil, and 1 cup of the reserved pineapple juice from the crushed and sliced pineapple. My cake never cracks and my daughter's boyfriend family always raves about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Very interesting spin to pineapple upsided down cake. The addition of the coconut was clever ad tasted great! Why didn't I think of that? I only gave it 4 stars because like other reviewers, I found that the top cake really wanted to fall off.It was a like stand-off between me and the top cake If you find a way to solve this problem then it will be 5 stars for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States