Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Delish! Very moist and flavorful! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Beck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Princeton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Narcheska
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This turned out amazing. We used a 20 oz can of pineapple rings instead of the two different 8 oz cans. I didn't put any cherries on the top because I couldn't find any at the store. Will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This recipe was easy however the phot suggests a rectangular cake rather than two round layers. When all is said and done it is essentially two cakes and layering is not necessary. Also, I would recommend layering the coconut after the pineapple is in the pan and to use unsweetened coconut. The cake is prettier and less sweet. My guests loved this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Totally Awesome! Turned out perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
This was amazing! The family ate in one day. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartsgrove, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Sensational moist cake, that's a breeze to prepare. I toasted the coconuts for 15 mins at 350* and it really added another flavor profile that blended perfectly; also added coconut and vanilla extract. Baked for 45-50 mins and inverted the cake immediately. I prefer not to layer the cake. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This is a wonderful version of an old classic. I basically did not change anything but did omit the coconut as I did not have any. It was delicious. The only thing I will change the next time is to use a 20 oz can of pineapple slices as my 8 oz can only had 4 slices and I wanted more on the top layer. I also will add some maraschino cherry juice with the pineapple juice to the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This is a great recipe! I took some of the left over pineapple circles and cut them in half and lined them up along the side sof the pans. Once the batter was poured in, they stayed in place. They stuck up above the batter, but once the cakes were baked, they were covered. The pineapple halves made for a beautiful design on the sides of the cake when they were stacked on top of each other. I also agree, the Pillsbury was the best mix, it was very moist and really tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I gave this 4 stars ONLY because when I cooked it with the coconut it wasn't that good. Without it the cake was spectacular! I also tried making it as mini cakes by using a large muffin pan. I placed the butter and sugar in the bottom of each muffin hole and then placed a whole slice of pineapple with a cherry in the center in the bottom. Afterwards I poured the batter on top and cooked for about 23 min. Definitely use a BUTTER yellow cake mix. There is a difference. If you make these you will not be disappointed! This technique yielded about 9 mini cakes for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This is a great looking, even better tasting cake. I will make this again and again! It turned out perfectly and looks like it took much, much more effort. GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States