Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by madriz13
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I made this cake last night for my brothers birthday. I also used the pineapple juice instead of water and instead of putting the coconuts inside I toasted it and stuck it to the sides which I smeared and filled with pineapple custard. Let's just say they plate was returned to me sparkiling clean within an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bella71
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This is similar to my mama's recipe. I omitted the cherries & coconut ad used crushed pineapple. I used the pineapple juice from the can on place of water and added tons of brown sugar. I only made a small round 9inch but it was yummy NOM NOM. See my posted pic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bella71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This cake is great. I never would have thought to layer an upside down cake, but it works well and looks very pretty. My only addition was to add chopped pecans to the layer with the brown sugar and crushed pineapple (the bottom layer). The top layer cracked a bit like some others have posted. Next time I'll try to be more gentle with the top. I put the pan back on after layering like someone else suggested, and that worked well. Thanks for this idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Made this for my daughters birthday cake and it was wonderful. I didn't use the coconut, but did double maraschinos in the pineapple - delicious, pretty and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This has become a family favorite. Extra moist and delicious. I don't make it as a round layer cake, but rather use a 9x13 pan putting half the batter down over the pineapple and brown sugar, then sprinkle a layer of crushed pineapple followed by the rest of the cake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
super good!!!!!! very moist and soft!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shabazazar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Good recipe. We enjoyed this cake. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vikki Cabral

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This was absolutely delicious and so simple to make! I also went with the 9X13 glass pan, put brown sugar, pineapple slices, cherries and brown sugar, topped with cake batter, layered with crushed pineapple, and topped with more cake batter. I piped whipped cream around the serving platter and garnished with just a bit of powdered sugar. It met with rave reviews by all of my co-workers. Be a little generous with the melted butter in the cake pan, it really keeps it from sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
caked tasted great but needs more pineapple. I agree with others that 4 rings in an 8 oz can isn't enough. Lacked enough pineapple flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Very easy, very good cake that was gone instantly. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States