Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This was absolutely delicious and so simple to make! I also went with the 9X13 glass pan, put brown sugar, pineapple slices, cherries and brown sugar, topped with cake batter, layered with crushed pineapple, and topped with more cake batter. I piped whipped cream around the serving platter and garnished with just a bit of powdered sugar. It met with rave reviews by all of my co-workers. Be a little generous with the melted butter in the cake pan, it really keeps it from sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
caked tasted great but needs more pineapple. I agree with others that 4 rings in an 8 oz can isn't enough. Lacked enough pineapple flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Very easy, very good cake that was gone instantly. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Delish! Very moist and flavorful! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Princeton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Narcheska
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This turned out amazing. We used a 20 oz can of pineapple rings instead of the two different 8 oz cans. I didn't put any cherries on the top because I couldn't find any at the store. Will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This recipe was easy however the phot suggests a rectangular cake rather than two round layers. When all is said and done it is essentially two cakes and layering is not necessary. Also, I would recommend layering the coconut after the pineapple is in the pan and to use unsweetened coconut. The cake is prettier and less sweet. My guests loved this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Totally Awesome! Turned out perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
This was amazing! The family ate in one day. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartsgrove, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Sensational moist cake, that's a breeze to prepare. I toasted the coconuts for 15 mins at 350* and it really added another flavor profile that blended perfectly; also added coconut and vanilla extract. Baked for 45-50 mins and inverted the cake immediately. I prefer not to layer the cake. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This is a wonderful version of an old classic. I basically did not change anything but did omit the coconut as I did not have any. It was delicious. The only thing I will change the next time is to use a 20 oz can of pineapple slices as my 8 oz can only had 4 slices and I wanted more on the top layer. I also will add some maraschino cherry juice with the pineapple juice to the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States