Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I prepared exactly as recipes called for and it was good, but not GREAT. Definitely a little dry. I would try again but I'd just prepare the cake as called for (not substituting pineapple juice) and I would use a single layer instead of two. I'd also recommend some sort of pineapple or creamy icing to add moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
My family loved this cake. I made it exactly according to the directions and it turned out great. I have made it several times since and always get fabulous results. I've added it to my family cookbook. It is a keeper. Thanks Donna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Quisno

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendale, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by madriz13
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I made this cake last night for my brothers birthday. I also used the pineapple juice instead of water and instead of putting the coconuts inside I toasted it and stuck it to the sides which I smeared and filled with pineapple custard. Let's just say they plate was returned to me sparkiling clean within an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bella71
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This is similar to my mama's recipe. I omitted the cherries & coconut ad used crushed pineapple. I used the pineapple juice from the can on place of water and added tons of brown sugar. I only made a small round 9inch but it was yummy NOM NOM. See my posted pic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bella71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This cake is great. I never would have thought to layer an upside down cake, but it works well and looks very pretty. My only addition was to add chopped pecans to the layer with the brown sugar and crushed pineapple (the bottom layer). The top layer cracked a bit like some others have posted. Next time I'll try to be more gentle with the top. I put the pan back on after layering like someone else suggested, and that worked well. Thanks for this idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Made this for my daughters birthday cake and it was wonderful. I didn't use the coconut, but did double maraschinos in the pineapple - delicious, pretty and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This has become a family favorite. Extra moist and delicious. I don't make it as a round layer cake, but rather use a 9x13 pan putting half the batter down over the pineapple and brown sugar, then sprinkle a layer of crushed pineapple followed by the rest of the cake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
super good!!!!!! very moist and soft!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shabazazar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Good recipe. We enjoyed this cake. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vikki Cabral

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This was absolutely delicious and so simple to make! I also went with the 9X13 glass pan, put brown sugar, pineapple slices, cherries and brown sugar, topped with cake batter, layered with crushed pineapple, and topped with more cake batter. I piped whipped cream around the serving platter and garnished with just a bit of powdered sugar. It met with rave reviews by all of my co-workers. Be a little generous with the melted butter in the cake pan, it really keeps it from sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States