Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Makes a very nice pineapple upside down cake. I just made a regular single layer one without coconut. Still delcious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Combs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Ringgold, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I made this for my husband and he said it's probably the best pineapple upside-down cake he's ever had. I didn't change a thing. I baked it in two 9in round layering pans and they were finished baking in 35 minutes. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
delicious, easy and inexpensive to make everyone who tried it, loved it , i may had killed a couple diabetics
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KittyFanatic
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This was my first attempt at making homemade this type of cake. Now, note that I am NOT a cake fan myself, and almost never eat it. This cake could change that! The house smelled heavenly! My husband had requested it to take to work for his boss for Boss' Day. It was a real hit, and I hated to see it leave the house! We'll be making another one for us soon. I don't think it has to have the coconut, but either way, fabulous recipe! (I also used a pineapple cake mix, so lots of flavor and a very pretty cake!) Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyFanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
My husband just called this 'the best pineapple upside-down cake I've ever had in my life' so I'd say it was a winner! The only change was that I substituted 1/4 C rum for the same amount of pineapple juice in the cake mix, which added a subtle and tasty flavor. Overall it was pretty easy and delicious! We'll definitely have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I'm confused because an 8oz. can of Dole Sliced Pineapple yields only 4 slices - not enough to line the pan. I had to run to store for another can. Other than that this recipe was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I didn't have the time to deal with two pans, so made this in a 9x13 pan and didn't use the crushed pineapple or the coconut (wasn't sure about it as we were taking this to a party). the juice in place of the water was SO good. Couple people had multiple pieces, this was just moist (used moist cake mix) and had great flavor. I didn't use a full 1/2 c of brown sugar but next time I will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Absolute best upside down cake I've ever had!!! I did make some tweaks based on personal preference. Used apple sauce instead of the oil in the cake mix, added the coconut to the bottom layer with the crushed pineapple, used about 1/2 of a stick of melted butter and almost 3/4 cup (eyeballed) brown sugar for the bottom layer (wanted an ooey gooey middle "filling", and extra pineapple. Added halved cherries to the bottom layer as well, just spread out with the brown sugar, pineapple, coconut and butter..... The top layer I used just a little extra butter and brown sugar. Also added a couple drops of coconut extract to the batter. SOOOO good! Took it to a potluck lunch, and had to keep watch over it, as guests kept picking up the platter before dessert time, and trying to go hide it in their vehicles......... There wasn't a single crumb left over!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This turned out great, exactly like the recipe (except I left out the coconut). Added whipped cream for decoration around the bottom, middle and top and viola!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA
Living In: Tarzana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States