Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Made this with a couple slight changes. I used a bundt pan, greased with butter. Poured mix of melted butter and coconut oil in the bottom (about 1 Tbsp of oil and 4 butter). Then I used 1 1/2 the called for amount of dark brown sugar, sprinkled it on the melted mixture. Then the coconut followed with the pineapple slices and cherries. Next I put a layer of the cake mix, a layer of the crushed pineapple then the rest of the cake mix. As others recommended, I used the butter golden cake mix and used pineapple juice instead of water. I baked it according to the cake mixes instructions for bundt pan. It came out WONDERFUL and looked beautiful. No cracking or worrying about layering. Try to serve this cake within an hour or so after taking it out of the over. The crunchy topping is the best and it just isn't as good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I loved this cake but I made a few changes. I totally omitted the coconut. I used a 9x13 glass pan instead of 2 cake pans. I used Duncan Hines moist butter mix or even Pillsbury moist butter mix. I used the pineapple juice as well I added a couple of tablespoons of lemon juice. The first layer was with the pineapple rings then half the batter. Then I added the crushed pineapple with cherries and the remaining batter. It was so moist and delicious. Everyone raved about it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anointedanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Makes a very nice pineapple upside down cake. I just made a regular single layer one without coconut. Still delcious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Combs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Ringgold, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I made this for my husband and he said it's probably the best pineapple upside-down cake he's ever had. I didn't change a thing. I baked it in two 9in round layering pans and they were finished baking in 35 minutes. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
delicious, easy and inexpensive to make everyone who tried it, loved it , i may had killed a couple diabetics
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KittyFanatic
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This was my first attempt at making homemade this type of cake. Now, note that I am NOT a cake fan myself, and almost never eat it. This cake could change that! The house smelled heavenly! My husband had requested it to take to work for his boss for Boss' Day. It was a real hit, and I hated to see it leave the house! We'll be making another one for us soon. I don't think it has to have the coconut, but either way, fabulous recipe! (I also used a pineapple cake mix, so lots of flavor and a very pretty cake!) Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyFanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
My husband just called this 'the best pineapple upside-down cake I've ever had in my life' so I'd say it was a winner! The only change was that I substituted 1/4 C rum for the same amount of pineapple juice in the cake mix, which added a subtle and tasty flavor. Overall it was pretty easy and delicious! We'll definitely have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I'm confused because an 8oz. can of Dole Sliced Pineapple yields only 4 slices - not enough to line the pan. I had to run to store for another can. Other than that this recipe was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I didn't have the time to deal with two pans, so made this in a 9x13 pan and didn't use the crushed pineapple or the coconut (wasn't sure about it as we were taking this to a party). the juice in place of the water was SO good. Couple people had multiple pieces, this was just moist (used moist cake mix) and had great flavor. I didn't use a full 1/2 c of brown sugar but next time I will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States