Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
My cake was really moist and delicious. I made a couple of changes recommended by other reviewers. I replaced the yellow cake mix with Pillsbury's Moist Supreme Golden Butter Recipe mix. I accidentally made the cake with water instead of the reserved pineapple juice, but it was still very flavorful. Lastly, I added 1/2 tsp imitation coconut flavoring to the cake mix. I was very happy with the results and will make this cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ellen Lomax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Oh My Goodness Wonderful!!! I used a Duncan Hines butter recipe box cake mix when I made your recipe. This Pineapple Upside Down Cake recipe was absolutely AMAZING!!! So light and moist, not overly sweet as pineapple upside down cakes tend to be (in my opinion. This cake just melts in your mouth. I LOVE the idea of baking 2 cakes to layer them. Having the topping of the 2nd layer between the 2 cakes just adds that element of surprise to the overall cake. Thank you so much for this lovely recipe that has now become my favorite and one I will definitely make again and again! I made the recipe exactly as you posted it & it is perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by butterflymomma
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I can't believe I forgot the butter and this still turned out great! I baked mine in a bundt pan and it turned out moist and delicious, although I will try it in the 2 rounds next time. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
It's a keeper. I used the Pillsbury golden butter recipe cake mix and the cakes baked 30 minutes. When I turned the first layer over some brown sugar and pineapple stuck, but it was easy enough to just spread it back on the layer. I also did the same with the bit of brown sugar and coconut left behind in the top layer pan - but the pineapples and cherries turned fine. We had ours with a bit of cool whip on top. Yummmmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbi Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walnut Cove, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I served this with ham for a family dinner party and it was completely eaten up. Everyone, young and old, loved it. My mother-in-law even requested the recipe! Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nehibirdie
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Everyone truly enjoyed this cake!! I took the advice of others and substituted the yellow cake mix with a butter cake mix. It was amazing and has already been requested again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nehibirdie
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I'm giving the recipe as it stands 3 stars. I made the following changes and the cake got rave reviews from my bf's co-workers: In place of cake mix I used "David's Yellow Cake" recipe - did not change anything (although I will add one or two egg whites for the next pineapple cake) I also used a 13x9 baking dish. I coated the bottom of the dish with the melted butter and layered as follows: brown sugar, pineapple rings, cherries, cake BATTER, crushed pineapple. Others recommended adding the crushed pineapple to the center of the cake batter, which is what I did. After doing so, I recommend adding the crushed pineapple on top of the batter. This will allow for a more "pineapple-y flavor" throughout the entire cake. Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brentwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I tried this recipe today because I happen to have a fresh and ripe golden pineapple. I sliced some of it into rings for the one layer with a whole slice going into the middle and half slices around the outside. I found that it took longer to bake but not sure if it's a wet cake or the golden cake that I made from scratch. The 2-cakes took 20-minutes longer than suggested in the recipe. When I flipped out the top layer there wasn't very much of the melted brown sugar. I melted a cup of brown sugar, 2 tbls of lime juice and a bit of water. I drizzled the syrupy mixtures to cover the top and down the sides. This acted like a glaze and the cake looks great - more finished. Rick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I really enjoyed this cake. I used crushed pineapples instead of rings to get a sweeter flavor all over. I will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dacoles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Washington, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I've made this twice, and everyone loves it. First time I did as directed, but the 2 layers seemed odd with nothing inbetween. The second time I added some coconut to the mix (3/4 cup) and made it in one big 9x13 pan. Muy delicious. Even made it for thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States