Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I've made this twice, and everyone loves it. First time I did as directed, but the 2 layers seemed odd with nothing inbetween. The second time I added some coconut to the mix (3/4 cup) and made it in one big 9x13 pan. Muy delicious. Even made it for thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
not so good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Awesome loved it! Ate two slices right away
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chelsea
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This recipe is extremely simple and quick. I followed the recipe, except I bought a 20oz can of pineapple instead of 8oz. It had plenty of juice for the cake mix, and more pineapples to spread around on top. I used non-stick 9" round baking pans. I used butter cake instead of yellow cake mix. I baked for about 35 minutes total, but probably could have baked a little longer (3-5 mins). I let the cakes cool for about 10 minutes, and then inverted. I put the cake pan back on top of the top layer to prevent cracking. Super moist and delicious. Better than any pineapple upside-down cake I have purchased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I made this cake last weekend, and it was phenomenal! Very light and fresh tasting, even after it's been in the refrigerator a couple days, and it was really minimal fuss to prepare. I followed the recipe almost precisely, with the minor addition of diced cherry in the middle layer mixed w/ the crushed pineapple, and I used another reviewer's suggestion of Duncan Hines Butter Golden cake mix. I shudder to think what the calorie count was, but it's worth it for a once-in-a-while treat, and in future editions I will experiment w/ some butter substitutes. The top layer did try to break in half when I stacked it, but I stuck some toothpicks in there and that fixed it right up. On a side note, and we'll just call this a hunch, if you don't have any round cake pans and get the bright idea to use two spring-form pans instead, be aware there's a chance the butter will drip through the pan to the bottom of the oven and create an entire house-full of thick smoke that is very unpleasant to air out in the middle of winter and your husband will be less than pleased at your baking prowess as he slides a cookie sheet under the cake pans to catch the drippings - but my hunch is that the smoke won't affect the flavor of the cake, at least, and he'll forgive you at first bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Made this with a couple slight changes. I used a bundt pan, greased with butter. Poured mix of melted butter and coconut oil in the bottom (about 1 Tbsp of oil and 4 butter). Then I used 1 1/2 the called for amount of dark brown sugar, sprinkled it on the melted mixture. Then the coconut followed with the pineapple slices and cherries. Next I put a layer of the cake mix, a layer of the crushed pineapple then the rest of the cake mix. As others recommended, I used the butter golden cake mix and used pineapple juice instead of water. I baked it according to the cake mixes instructions for bundt pan. It came out WONDERFUL and looked beautiful. No cracking or worrying about layering. Try to serve this cake within an hour or so after taking it out of the over. The crunchy topping is the best and it just isn't as good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I loved this cake but I made a few changes. I totally omitted the coconut. I used a 9x13 glass pan instead of 2 cake pans. I used Duncan Hines moist butter mix or even Pillsbury moist butter mix. I used the pineapple juice as well I added a couple of tablespoons of lemon juice. The first layer was with the pineapple rings then half the batter. Then I added the crushed pineapple with cherries and the remaining batter. It was so moist and delicious. Everyone raved about it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anointedanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Makes a very nice pineapple upside down cake. I just made a regular single layer one without coconut. Still delcious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Combs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Ringgold, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I made this for my husband and he said it's probably the best pineapple upside-down cake he's ever had. I didn't change a thing. I baked it in two 9in round layering pans and they were finished baking in 35 minutes. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 379) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States