Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I liked this and it was pretty easy to do. I used a whole stick of butter, ½ a stick in each pan. I added coconut to the bottom layer too. I also put some pecan halves on the top layer before I laid down the coconut layer. I was going to use a regular yellow cake mix, but I saw a pineapple flavored cake mix, so I used that instead. In my oven they were done in 35 minutes not the 40-50. I did not let it sit 20 minutes before turning out. I turned them immediately. Next time I will make sure I spread the batter a little better as my cake was a bit lopsided. That is OK though it still tasted good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reggie Tucker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, California, USA
Living In: Leesville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Oh YUM. My daughter and I made our first pineapple upside cake with this recipe and it was gone in minutes. The cake was a little soggy under the pineapple, but pretty sure it was user error--didn't drain pineapple enough. Thanks for the tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda Hohlbein Loeffler
Home Town: Los Altos, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Don't like yellow cake mix so I use a pineapple cake mix (if I'm in a hurry and can't make from scratch). Really good! As another reviewer says, turn pan over right away after baking so that the topping drips onto the cake and doesn't stick in the bottom of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
My cake was really moist and delicious. I made a couple of changes recommended by other reviewers. I replaced the yellow cake mix with Pillsbury's Moist Supreme Golden Butter Recipe mix. I accidentally made the cake with water instead of the reserved pineapple juice, but it was still very flavorful. Lastly, I added 1/2 tsp imitation coconut flavoring to the cake mix. I was very happy with the results and will make this cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ellen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Oh My Goodness Wonderful!!! I used a Duncan Hines butter recipe box cake mix when I made your recipe. This Pineapple Upside Down Cake recipe was absolutely AMAZING!!! So light and moist, not overly sweet as pineapple upside down cakes tend to be (in my opinion. This cake just melts in your mouth. I LOVE the idea of baking 2 cakes to layer them. Having the topping of the 2nd layer between the 2 cakes just adds that element of surprise to the overall cake. Thank you so much for this lovely recipe that has now become my favorite and one I will definitely make again and again! I made the recipe exactly as you posted it & it is perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by butterflymomma
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I can't believe I forgot the butter and this still turned out great! I baked mine in a bundt pan and it turned out moist and delicious, although I will try it in the 2 rounds next time. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
It's a keeper. I used the Pillsbury golden butter recipe cake mix and the cakes baked 30 minutes. When I turned the first layer over some brown sugar and pineapple stuck, but it was easy enough to just spread it back on the layer. I also did the same with the bit of brown sugar and coconut left behind in the top layer pan - but the pineapples and cherries turned fine. We had ours with a bit of cool whip on top. Yummmmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbi Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walnut Cove, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I served this with ham for a family dinner party and it was completely eaten up. Everyone, young and old, loved it. My mother-in-law even requested the recipe! Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nehibirdie
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Everyone truly enjoyed this cake!! I took the advice of others and substituted the yellow cake mix with a butter cake mix. It was amazing and has already been requested again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nehibirdie
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I'm giving the recipe as it stands 3 stars. I made the following changes and the cake got rave reviews from my bf's co-workers: In place of cake mix I used "David's Yellow Cake" recipe - did not change anything (although I will add one or two egg whites for the next pineapple cake) I also used a 13x9 baking dish. I coated the bottom of the dish with the melted butter and layered as follows: brown sugar, pineapple rings, cherries, cake BATTER, crushed pineapple. Others recommended adding the crushed pineapple to the center of the cake batter, which is what I did. After doing so, I recommend adding the crushed pineapple on top of the batter. This will allow for a more "pineapple-y flavor" throughout the entire cake. Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brentwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States