Pineapple Upside-Down Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I enjoyed this very much as did the family. The shortening in the mix made for a very nice crumb for the cake and the topping was super super yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I had a problem getting the cake out of the pan, what a mess! So disappointed but my boyfriend ate the disaster out of a bowl anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara Stout

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I had some leftover canned pineapple tidbits that I was looking to use up. I used the search by ingredient feature with the ingredients I had on hand, and this was the first thing that popped up. Well, I had almost all the ingredients. I never have shortening on hand, so I used oil. The cake itself was super moist(I followed other reviews, and added extra juice), but a little on the sweet side. It's probably my fault because of the extra juice, I'll have to remember to cut back on the sugar to compensate next time. I also added some pumpkin pie spice to the batter, I use it in all my baked goods and it goes really well with the pineapple. The only problem I had with this recipe is it won't come out of the pan! I ran a knife along the sides of the pan, but it just won't budge. I'm not serving it to company, so it's not that big of a deal. It still tastes great! The topping is just not gooey like I usually make. I think an extra TBS or so of butter will help with the sticking. Will definitely make again though! Thank you so much for the pineapple upside-down cake....errrrr....pineapple downside-up cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I loved this recipe! Super easy to throw together, and wonderful texture and flavor! I used the rings instead of crushed pineapple, because I prefer the look, but I fill in the "gaps" with pieces of pineapple. This will be my go to recipe for Pineapple Upside Down Cake from now on! Thank You for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
My husband loved it. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by locklear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This was good and got compliments from everyone at the party I baked it for. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
This recipe is great the only change I would do next time I make this is to lower the salt to 1/4 tea instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
The pineapple topping part of the recipe is great but the cake part is not that great. It's not much cake batter either and I tried this recipe without making any changes and finally decided to find a better cake recipe to go with this recipes pineapple topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Delicious! Made it for my mom's birthday. She loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Photo by natzsm
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Loved the recipe! I doubled the recipe so that it would fit a 9 X 13 inch pan and used pineapple rings instead of crushed pineapple. I omitted the cherries and walnuts because I didn't have any but still turned out great. Although delicious served as is, I ate mine with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natzsm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Makati, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States