Pineapple Upside-Down Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
The cake tasted delicious. However it was a little runny and I'm not sure what I did wrong. I did spray my pan with pam cooking spray and I used pecans instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
This is a very dry bland cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cantonment, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I was a little disappointed because the cake got stuck in the pan and fell apart in some areas. I don't know where I went wrong because I even sprayed the pan with Pam. Anyhow, everyone loved it and I'll give it a second try. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I loved this recipe!! only thing I used different was used the circled pine apple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I adore scratch recipes and this one "takes the cake"! Had to delete the walnuts as I'm allergic and used the pineapple rings. Used all the juice too as several reviewers suggested. Hubby ate a whole fourth of the cake last night and declared it was the best he'd ever eaten (and he's eaten a lot of cake in his 60 years!!!). Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Pretty straight forward recipe. I followed the directions as written here and had a decent end result. I say decent because I frankly thought the cake was too dry and lacked flavor but my boyfriend LOVED it. All in all, I think it's worth making and tweaking until you get it just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jo'L
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Oh it is fantastic! I followed the recipe almost exact - i didn't have any cherries and my pineapples were just a 20oz chunked pineapples can. I used almost all of the pineapple juice in the can per other reviewers recommendations. I will make so many times!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo'L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I like the idea of this cake because it used crushed pineapple instead of the rings. Made for better distribution and pineapple in every bite. I only used 2 tablespoons of shortening and then added 1/4 cup applesauce. No cherries. I added pecans but think I would like it better without any nuts. Really moist and good flavor, even with reducing the fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This recipe is incredible. It tastes wonderful and the cake is so light that you can even eat it after a heavier meal. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I made this with a yellow cake mix, but made the topping as directed. I did use a pineapple ring in the middle, and omitted the cherries. It was wonderful, and got rave reviews. Super easy and fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States