Pineapple Upside-Down Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Sorry but the cake part was way too dry. Topping was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I added one half cup of spiced rum to the pineapple water juice...it was an added touch. This cake was moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as listed except adding 1 tsp of salt. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I thought the flour would be too much (3 cups) but it was fine. Be sure to use all the juice and add enough water to make 1 1/3 cups of liquid as per recipe. However, even after letting cake cool for 30 min. rather than the recipe's 5 (as per other's suggestions), the toppings stuck to bottom of pan. Perhaps i will butter the pan even more heavily next time; don't know why else it would have stuck like that. Tastes good, though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ming

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
So weird how submitter's names change. Originally, as in 2003, when I first tried this, it was from Nancy. No big deal, I guess. Just need to remember to save all recipes. Ha! Save all recipes, allrecipes?!? ... okay, okay ... :D ... I subbed sliced peaches & 2/3c peach syrup & 2/3c milk for the part where you add water to the pineapple juice to make 1 1/3cups. Also added 1t salt to balance the sugar, which I reduced to 1c in the cake part. This one is better than my Good Housekeeping Illustrated Cookbook one I've been using. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jordyne Dauberman
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I personally did not like this cake, but my mom loved it. I thought it was a little too soggy, but it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordyne Dauberman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
may family and i thought this cake was great! i will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Followed to a tee. Dry and falls apart. Will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Super easy and delicious. I didn't have any shortening so I substituted 1/2 cup of butter and 1/2 of vegetable oil. Worked out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I loved this cake but did make a few changes; I doubled the brown sugar and used one can of crushed and one can of pineapple tidbits for the topping. I omitted the cherries - too sickly sweet for me. I used butter instead of shortening and I also doubled the vanilla. After reading the reviews, I was concerned the cake was going to be too dense but it was just perfect - light and airy with just the right sweetness. What would I do differently next time? I would caramelize the brown sugar prior to mixing with pineapple. I would also like to try this with either coconut or almond extract - both work so well with pineapple. Note: I did not give it a 5 because of the adjustments necessary to the recipe however with the changes made - it was def a 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Levin-Kell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States