Pineapple Upside-Down Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I made this in a 9x13 pan and I was a bit nervous that the batter was spread too thin. But I lessened the baking time to 20 minutes and it came out perfect. This was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by murelzgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metropolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
What a delightful screw up this was! I followed the recipe pretty closely but added 1/2 cup milk and 1/2 cup of pineapple juice. I also didn't cube the pineapple, I used the rings out of a can. I originally made just one batch but silly me didn't read the pan size and put it all together in a 9x12. So I made another batch to fill the pan up and baked a bit longer, more like an hour. I was completely ready for a disaster but to my surprise it was fantastic. Not dry, not too moist but just perfect. So double your recipe and stick it in a 9/12 to enjoy even more. Also give your mixing a lot of love. The batter is wonderful too. Lick your spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
If the cake turned out a disaster, perhaps you made a mistake. Cooking is chemistry and you have to follow directions to a tee. Really cream that butter and sugar, and beat well between additions. The batter fluffs up like a meringe, so don't expect cake-mix consistency. I did do some modifications. (I found the cake a bit DRY) Here's what I recommend: (1) Yes, REDUCE the topping butter to 1/4 cup. Cube it, put it in the pan, and put the pan in the oven while it's preheating. Save the step. Sprinkle with brown sugar and combine with fork. (2)Really pile on that pineapple: be generous in the size of your cubes because they'll shrink!! Don't dry the pineapple, let those juices soak into the batter. (3) Cut the flour 1/4 cup, and reduce baking time by 5-7 minutes. This is a great recipe! So glad I found it. It will become a perineal favorite in this home. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
This was my first time ever making pineapple upside-down cake, and thanks to this recipe, it turned out great! I cut back on the butter for the topping by half, and I went ahead and melted it in the hot oven right in the pan, and then I went ahead and mixed the brown sugar into the melted butter. I used canned pineapple rings and put marachino cherries in the middles of the pineapple rings. Then I sprinkled a little bit of chopped pecans over that. I cut back on the salt just a tiny bit because I didn't have unsalted butter and didn't want it to come out too salty. Instead of milk, I used 3/4 cup of the reserved pineapple juice, which gave the cake wonderful flavor. I beat the batter real well between each step and the batter came out real nice. Oh, also I used cake four instead of all-purpose. Lastly, I only had an 8" round pan and I had a little extra batter, so I went ahead and prepared three custard cups just like the pan, and poured the rest of the batter in those. The cake was done in about 43 minutes, and the custard cups were done in about 32 minutes. I'm glad I put the custard cups in the other cake pan I had, because the the sugary, buttery topping came up out of the sides a little bit. This is so good! I can't wait to eat more of it! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Campos Dowling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
The only thing I can think of is that maybe people are using too much pineapple?? I used pineapple rings -- just enough to cover the top of the cake. And this thing turned out PERFECT. I honestly wouldn't change a thing about it. Even the topping was perfect. I liked that it was extra buttery and yummy. Have no fear, this is a GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I gave this a five star rating, assuming the amount of butter was incorrect. I used 1/2 cup butter total. I little more than 1/4 cup for the cake and the remainder for the topping. I used 1/2 milk and 1/2 pineapple juice for the 3/4 cup milk. This cake was okay the day I made it, but it was awesome the next day. So, if you need a make ahead dessert with ingredients you have on hand, this might be the ticket!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2004
One night, I thought to myself, "Self, I would like some cake....cake with pineapple..." So, I logged onto allrecipes, and found...this great recipe! I used half of a 1lb, 4oz can of pinapple chunks, drained and crushed. Also, going off of what someone else reveiwed, I only used about 3/4 of a stick of butter, rather than the whole stick. I still think the 'topping' was to soggy though, and next time I would reduce the butter even more, maybe 2/3 of a stick. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I made this last year for my father (who lives in another state) who really enjoys pineapple upside down cake. Based upon previous versions I have tasted, I was not particularly fond of this cake. However, when I made this for my father, it was so moist and very flavorable that now I would eat this cake. My father enjoyed the cake so much, that he has requested that I make him one to bring to him when I come to visit I am going to make. Because I am such a stickler for using fresh products, I make this using fresh pineapple, preferable golden pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YOLI1964

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This sounds like a similar recipe I saw on Good Morning America years ago. I've been making it for years and it's terrific! I use canned pineapple rings, dried very well, and make sure the butter mixture is a good consistency (I don't melt it all the way) before spreading it in the pan--that way it bakes into an almost crunchy topping for the cake. When serving, I place a few pansies in the middle and serve it warm with vanilla ice cream. It's a gorgeous, delicious dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpaigel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
This cake turned out to be a soggy mess. The proportion for the butter and brown sugar was definately way off. I read the reviews on this recipe before trying it. So I merely greased the pan with butter and sprinkled the brown sugar over it, but ultimately the end product was a messy and soggy cake. I am still curious how others find this cake good?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States