Pineapple Upside-Down Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Wow! This cake is wonderful. The only deviation was my usual of adding far more vanilla than called for! And I baked it in a square pan rather than round. I use only fresh eggs from a lady in the neighborhood, which might have something to do with the fluffiness, but wow, this recipe was beautiful to make. The batter was amazingly fluffy and made a huge amount. We ate this for dessert after our Easter dinner...served it warm with whipped cream. I baked it longer than 55 mins, but I think it may be due to pan size. It separated perfectly out of the pan. It was soooo beautiful and so delicious, and super easy!!! This cake would make a great gift or to take to the office.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This was so good warm from the oven. It would be really great with fresh pineapple, however all I had on hand was pineapple rings which I did not pat dry, and I stirred the butter and brown sugar in the cake pan as suggested by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
baked a pineapple upside down cake before but this one is definitely the best so far...my family loved it...I will be using this one for sure from now on, I made a little change, I added 1/4 cup of reserved pineapple juice and a cup of milk instead of the 1 1/4 milk it called for and didn't bother cutting the cherries in half...the cake didn't last the night, it disappeared that quick...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Delicious! Doubled the recipe and baked in a glass 9x13, for about one hour. Used canned pineapple rings as well, only needed one can. The topping around the pineapple was great and definately what was missing out of the last recipe for this I tried. Thanks a bunch for the recipe, exactly what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MummyJacks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Cochrane, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
If I do this again I would omit at least 1/2 the butter for the topping if not all together. Wasn't thrilled with the cinnamon in the cake itself. Next time I'll just do a box mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSTWINKLE5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Excellent cake. Made as directed and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly. The cake turned out beautifully; however, th cake itself seemed dry and and in need of more flavor. I don't believe I will repeat this particular recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I love this recipe- I always make it in little ramekins so everyone in the family gets their very own cake. This is the only cake my 4 year old will eat. I don't dry the pineappe and I do mix in some pineapple juice with the milk and it is always great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
The proportion for the brown sugar was way off in my opinion. And the middle of the cake didn't seem to want to cook all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Slitherymoo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
My review may increase to 5 stars after trying a second attempt. My first attempt was made using a spring-form pan... WARNING: check if your spring-form pan is water-tight before using! There is a lot of butter in pan, and it melts into a thin liquid that can leak out of a small opening. Luckily I noticed the sound of butter spattering on the bottom of my oven and was quickly able to slide a pan underneath to catch all that butter! I'm sure the cake would have turned out more buttery and tastier had it not leaked out. I will give this another try in a regular pan... I think I will have improved results. This first attempt has already turned out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States