Pineapple Upside-Down Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This cake was delicious! I cooked it in a cast iron pan on the stove top on low. Its very simple very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I have had Pineapple Upside down cake that was so much better than this. The topping was just mushy, not sweet and flavorful. The cake itself was just average. It was just not good at all. And if you follow the recipe, it doesn't look like the picture. It makes a small round cake size. I definitely won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I made this cake for my father for his birthday at his request. Both he and my mother thought it was the best Pineapple Upside Down Cake they ever had! I followed the recipe as written with the exception of using canned pineapple and using a 50/50 mixture of milk and pineapple juice. Absolutely delicious! I'm making it again tonight. Thanks so much for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I made this exactly as the recipe said and it came out DELICIOUS! Only thing I did different was cube up the butter and let it melt into the pan while the oven pre-heated. Saved a step. I also used a rectangle Pyrex baking dish (13x9) and it came out wonderful. Honestly...DO NOT BE AFRAID TO USE AS MUCH BUTTER AS IT CALLS FOR!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StarHammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I made this with my 4 year old son, we love to bake together. We cut a piece of waxed paper to fit the bottom of a spring form pan, laid down pineapple slices and cherries first, then the brown sugar and butter mixture over those. We mixed and baked the rest of the cake exactly as the recipe instructed, and it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cgraham

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I tweaked the recipe a little bit because I cross-referenced with some other recipes online. I separated the eggs; yolks to the creamed butter and whites with cream of tartar whipped until they formed peaks. My finished product turned out great except that the top layer was kinda soggy and wet. I might be adjusting the amount of butter in the caramel mixture next time. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingmommie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Great recipe. first time making a pineapple upside-down cake. I followed some of the other suggestions: I modified it to have 1/4 cup butter with brown sugar n the pan. I put 1/2 cup of milk and a 1/4 cup pineapple juice. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
The first time I made this cake it taste ok. I followed the reciped to the letter and it was a bit dense and little on the dry side but my family ate it anyway. I made this cake again tonight but changed up the ingredients. (1) I doubled the recipe for a 10 X 3 inch pan (2) substituted 1 cup flour for 1 cup cake flour (3) used 1/4 cup pineapple juice in my batter for added flavor (4) alloted more time 1 hr. 40 mins for baking due to doubling the recipe. IT IS EXCELLENT NOW!!! MELTS IN YOUR MOUTH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
First time for makeing pineapple upside-down cake and it was awesome!! Woulnt change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vermilion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I made this cake exactly like the recipe, and did not like it. Way too dense, not enough flavor in the cake, although everybody else seemed to like it. I think I would have preferred one of the recipes that call for cake mix in the box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States